......they become adults, should they be expected to help their parents ? Are they obligated to do so ? Are you expecting them to help you out when you are no longer working ?
if your children do well financially when...
Re: if your children do well financially when...
This obviously depends largely on the ethnic/cultural and social milieu in which they find themselves.
In Canada one's elders are sometimes treated very callously, but here in Africa people are expected to look after their parents and elders because that's the tradition. Not everybody can afford to live up to it, but many ppl do. And parents certainly expect their children to provide for them in their old age, and most ppl think they have a 'right' to. And of course there's no social safety net here.
So it depends, see?
Children are not obligated to take care of their parents.
On the other hand, I personally felt it is my duty to take care of my elders -
this is the way I was raised - just like my parents and grand parents did
before me. I don't expect my children to do the same. Things and times have changed - this is the "me" generation - gone are the days when my Aunty who had 11 children used to boast that her children were her "pus_sey pension". She was right about that because she lived until she was 102 and those 9 pension checks took care of her (2 of her children died before she did).
this points out another aspect of the question......your children may have the best of intentions when they are single and unattached, but if they hook up with a partner who noh like yuh, it might be time to stock up on Ramen noodles for your latter years....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">legally...no
morally...yes </div></div>
Well if either of You live in Jamaica They are legally bound by law.
Anywhere else it is all about morals.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">legally...no
morally...yes </div></div>
Well if either of You live in Jamaica They are legally bound by law.
Anywhere else it is all about morals. </div></div>
i also beleive grandparents as well.
...well that's a loophole any child could use because that can be subjective....guess that's why there is a law. And it works both ways...because most parents still tek care of dem hard aise pickney even when dem bad and gi dem nutten but heart ache an grief.