(((KIA))) Not so much a cultural difference except maybe the sleepovers.
When I was growing up we were not allowed to call any adult by their first name unless it was a relative.
Answering "what" we would have gotten a slap in the mouth, but we knew better from a young young age what the correct acceptable response was to ANY adult!
You know alot of times I cringe when I am around "some" people and they way that they raise their kids and the things they let them do and say.
Example: Mom (27yrs old) to her 4yr old: "Tommy your shoes are on the wrong feet."
Tommy (4yr old)" Nana are my shoes on the wrong feet because I dont feel like
arguing with her (his mom) today?"
Nana and Mom:
The Mom and the Nana (especially the Nana) thinks every thing that he says is sooo funny....
I constantly find myself comparing the way I was raised and the way that I raised my sons to "some" mothers of the X and Y generations.
Two days ago I was at their house and the grown folks were sitting on the patio, he comes to the door with a juice in his hand and asks his Mom if he can drink it (normally he does not ask , he just go into the fridge and gets what he want). Anywho she told him to put the juice back and get water instead, they went back and forth for about 2mins until I said WATER Tommy your Mom said WATER , I am saying this to say that everything that she says to him turns into a discussion...what happen to telling a 4yr old what you want them to do and they do it?
answering when called by saying 'What'.. My kids learned very early to NEVER do that
so because of that I am viewed as the mean parent by my kids friends
whatever
lol @ mean parents..I love the looks I get from relatives when they hear mi with my kids. They think because I am a young parent I am an automatic pushover but that is not so!
Then I get the "oh she got her under manners eeh" look from dem..it is a sight
But yes, I am definitely the mean mom. Her cousins came over to visit her one day but she was on punishment in her room and I turn them back. Her uncle seh mi hard because she is just a baby. But babies grow up into big problems if left unchecked...as evidenced by fi dem kids
BTW dis chile still pester me fi wear lipgloss almost everyday What is an appropriate age for that?
Which culture? It can vary within a country and certainly by region.
I still say "mom" and "dad", but my college roommate and her brother called their mother by her first name from when I first met them. I thought that was the oddest thing ever. I still call my friends' parents from even longer Mr. and Mrs. whatever last name.
Ms Exced, I got the "WHAT" knocked out of me while I was on the low end of single digits in age. My dad especially did not like that response lol. I still say yes m'am, no sir, etc. to those who are older than me.
We did have sleepover freedom though. My first away from home was 3rd grade when I was 7. Most were at my house though.
Kia, you aren't no mean mama. Be flexible where you can, but don't let these folks beat your values out. People seem to have enough problems with children so if your formula works then continue to roll with it.
answering when called by saying 'What'.. My kids learned very early to NEVER do that
so because of that I am viewed as the mean parent by my kids friends
whatever
lol @ mean parents..I love the looks I get from relatives when they hear mi with my kids. They think because I am a young parent I am an automatic pushover but that is not so!
Then I get the "oh she got her under manners eeh" look from dem..it is a sight
But yes, I am definitely the mean mom. Her cousins came over to visit her one day but she was on punishment in her room and I turn them back. Her uncle seh mi hard because she is just a baby. <span style="font-weight: bold">But babies grow up into big problems if left unchecked...as evidenced by fi dem kids </span>BTW dis chile still pester me fi wear lipgloss almost everyday What is an appropriate age for that? </div></div>
My point exactly ((Skelly)) why do people think that they can wait until a child is 13 or 14 before they start to teach them what is appropiate behavior ? The horse is already out the barn, teach them at a young age and most likely they will not be dealing with school suspensions or visting them in jail.
My hats off to the young parents that take parenting seriously, it is not a joke!
Whenever people are around my oldest son kids they always comment on how well behaved they are and the fact that they do have manners. The same way they behave in public is the same way that they behave at home.
Out of control kids are a pet peeve of mine. The 4yr old that I spoke of earlier in my post ran upon his Nana with his face twisted and his fist raised...of course I had to open my mouth and tell him appropriate behavior for a 4yr old when dealing with his anger and ADULTS...Nana just sat their looking embarassed probably more from my reaction then his.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what happen to telling a 4yr old what you want them to do and they do it?</div></div>
some crackpot pyschologist thought it was a good idea to offer the toddler choices
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Thanks to all for letting me vent!!!</div></div>
Vent away please!
My younger child is the hard to handle one - cause her impulsvity level is high. She is persistent and i have to have a firm handle. When she starts begging for toys, I say, are you changing your name to five horses, cause all you are doing is nag nag nag nag nag and the answer is still NO!!
yah, and them is the same parents who looks around with a surprise face when them 16 year old is outta control, or maybe even hit them..... and say "that is just a bad child, they've always been bad, from time". Idiots take no responsibility for proper raising of said chile then act like is the KID's fault -- and then send dem away to some boarding school so they nah haf to deal with the monster they SELF created.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.