<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/T3qxOGim064" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Jamaican Parents
Re: Jamaican Parents
sending dis on to mi two pickney
OK. So here's what happened when Peas1 was seven and Peas2 was four years old:
<span style="font-weight: bold">Me</span> (yelling at Peas2 about something)
<span style="font-weight: bold">Peas1</span>: Mommy, are you going to call him a "Nah Boy"?
<span style="font-weight: bold">
Me</span>: Is what yuh a seh?
And then it dawned on me. I would yell at Peas1, "Lissen to mi <span style="font-weight: bold">nah bway</span>yuh bettah tek awf yuh boot before yuh walk pan mi floor dem." Etc. Etc.
All dis time Peas1 was thinking "Nah Bway" was a term I would use when he was being bad.
"If your parents are not Jamaican look for Jamaican parents near you"
A few years ago, I used to have the neighborhood boys over to teach them table mannersIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">unno and pikney made me laugh...my kids can relate
as well as "cho" (BB ask me if it mean "dang") and "facety"
ok gone to watch the rest
et<span style="font-weight: bold">a: ehmm why him couldn't put on a shirt eeh? </span> </div></div>
There goes the Jamaican parent in you
Jan is at the stage where she is asking me what every lickle patwa word mean \o/
"Mommy, what does <span style="font-style: italic">Jeezam peez</span> means?"
I bought a book called "Mek Mi tell Yuh" an wan day mi ketch har a read it an her pronunciation of the patwa words had me cracking up.But it was pretty decent.
I have got to get her on tape reading patwa
can relate my granparents
are jamaicans and used to
(my Nan) say stuff like if a
lick u will si peeeny walli (a bug I think)
put the cup up to u head
meaning drink everything in
the cup. I actually when I was
a little kid put the cup beside
my head thinking why the hell
should I do that. then she said
doan farm the fool u hear likkle girl
she never hit me though
memories