A fifth grader talking to other boys at the end of the school day. What do you call Mexicans? What do you call Chinese people? What do you call Black girls? ---screech-- she gave him the 'look of death' and he stopped. She did not hear the answers to any of the questions but she knew what he was doing was wrong and he knew what he was doing was wrong. This is where the next generation of stereotypes are formed.
Yesterday at school
Re: Yesterday at school
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i bet he heard it at home </div></div>
yep
not surprised. 1st week of 1st grade he pushed her, she pushed him back
he threw a book at her, she threw it back at him
he called her a turd, she called him it back
then came home and asked what is a turd?
so 4 years later, she still haffi deal wid im fawt
Mother is a corporate banking type; father is a copIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i bet he heard it at home </div></div>
Sometimes they hear it on the street, from friends.
One day my son was referring to another kid in the neighborhood and called him a name I did not appreciate. We paused and we had a talk about the term, and why it was not acceptable and why he never heard it used in our home.
He told me where he heard it from and we talked more about what was wrong with saying what he said. We talked about stereotypes and prejudices for a bit.
I don't think he truly had hate for the child he was referring to, more like he was using a term he heard and was repeating it. But yes, that is how the transfer of hate begins.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
Rich once dem leave yuh house they are sponge sucking up tings from their environment.
One day I heard Jan calling somebody on the TV fat. Not even dat mi allow har fi espouse much less anything racial. Mi tell har shi better dare not mek mi hear her calling people fat again
But I truly believe that if parents behave/speak in a manner conducive to what they teach their kids, they will grow up doing the right thing. There is still some level innocence at that age where they can "grow out" of that mindset.