Re: Micheal Lee Chin outlines strategy and cho words
But there were a network of procurers from the north coast who came round to buy every thing from goats to coffee, mangoes, tomatoes carrots..... Man with one or two cow would save it for deh tourist man as we called them.They went to every nook and cranny of Jamaica especially in hte off harvest seaons... This was pre 70's.... They gathered inteligence on what was available from whom. They paid above what was the local prices...Now a days you discuss farming with the young bloods in the same areas and nobody naw farm as there is no markets yet there is more tourists in Jamaica.. Hell no one from my district worked the norht coast but most had some benifit.... Then came the Agriculture marketing board....
Also I beleive that there was a greater retention of the moneys in Jamaica.. Currently there is 90% of revenue is repartriated. That the hotels was not owned by black people then is the same as now. The only difference they were then owned by white / chinese / syrian jamaicans smaller..
With the big corporation retaining profit. And is Mr Chin is corporation gonna keep his revenue with minisied tax liability, much like Butch. I am sure he has negoiated the some sort of tax deal..
Ownership of hotels by small single hotel operators with local ownership means that they are morelikely for their incomces to be subject to tax.....
The fact that the front end jobs are worked by black Jamaicans is not the issue.. Ownership and retention of profit is...As there has been black men working these jobs for the last thirty years. Yet in fact high skill specilaist jobs are being recruited overseas for tourism because of lack of skills locally available... There are for instance a significant number of accountants who are non local working for hotel chains...
Out of intrest are black caribean nationals clasified as black or just Jamicans blacks ?????
The issue is that the repatriateion of toruism dollars and that the majority of the products are imported, less triclke down.As for each job directly there should be atleat 10 indirectly supporting that job through manufature and service...That does not appear to be the case... The fact that there is so much procurement of materials for hotels in effect in Miami not Jamaica.
But what do I know ?????
All valid points, I will address the agriculture sector first, I know that many farmers benefited under the govt. protected high tariff environment of the 60's and 70's and 80's but with the forced liberation of the jamaican economy mandated by the IMF, competition from Miami and elsewhere resulted in the current situation where you have heavily subsidized american and european products flooding the market. But, we are now coming full circle as more tourist and visitors are demanding local produce and material, I know I was quite vocal on my last reach on the hotel suggestion list, that more local produce become available at the hotel, especially fruits and vegetables (they did have jamaican apple and jack fruit and bananas). Plus I have read several places where the hotels, Jampro and Roger Clarke Min of agriculture are complaining about the farmers inability to provide certain quantity and quality that hotels need. So I dont think it is as simple as you try to make it seem that no money is in agriculture.
and nobody naw farm as there is no markets yet there is more tourists in Jamaica..
[/ QUOTE ] This is not reality, in fact the market is even bigger than before but unless local farmers pool and work together and be pro-active in researching who wants what, they will continue to be thristy when water exist all around.
But there were a network of procurers from the north coast who came round to buy every thing from goats to coffee, mangoes, tomatoes carrots..... Man with one or two cow would save it for deh tourist man as we called them.They went to every nook and cranny of Jamaica especially in hte off harvest seaons... This was pre 70's.... They gathered inteligence on what was available from whom. They paid above what was the local prices...Now a days you discuss farming with the young bloods in the same areas and nobody naw farm as there is no markets yet there is more tourists in Jamaica.. Hell no one from my district worked the norht coast but most had some benifit.... Then came the Agriculture marketing board....
Also I beleive that there was a greater retention of the moneys in Jamaica.. Currently there is 90% of revenue is repartriated. That the hotels was not owned by black people then is the same as now. The only difference they were then owned by white / chinese / syrian jamaicans smaller..
With the big corporation retaining profit. And is Mr Chin is corporation gonna keep his revenue with minisied tax liability, much like Butch. I am sure he has negoiated the some sort of tax deal..
Ownership of hotels by small single hotel operators with local ownership means that they are morelikely for their incomces to be subject to tax.....
The fact that the front end jobs are worked by black Jamaicans is not the issue.. Ownership and retention of profit is...As there has been black men working these jobs for the last thirty years. Yet in fact high skill specilaist jobs are being recruited overseas for tourism because of lack of skills locally available... There are for instance a significant number of accountants who are non local working for hotel chains...
Out of intrest are black caribean nationals clasified as black or just Jamicans blacks ?????
The issue is that the repatriateion of toruism dollars and that the majority of the products are imported, less triclke down.As for each job directly there should be atleat 10 indirectly supporting that job through manufature and service...That does not appear to be the case... The fact that there is so much procurement of materials for hotels in effect in Miami not Jamaica.
But what do I know ?????
All valid points, I will address the agriculture sector first, I know that many farmers benefited under the govt. protected high tariff environment of the 60's and 70's and 80's but with the forced liberation of the jamaican economy mandated by the IMF, competition from Miami and elsewhere resulted in the current situation where you have heavily subsidized american and european products flooding the market. But, we are now coming full circle as more tourist and visitors are demanding local produce and material, I know I was quite vocal on my last reach on the hotel suggestion list, that more local produce become available at the hotel, especially fruits and vegetables (they did have jamaican apple and jack fruit and bananas). Plus I have read several places where the hotels, Jampro and Roger Clarke Min of agriculture are complaining about the farmers inability to provide certain quantity and quality that hotels need. So I dont think it is as simple as you try to make it seem that no money is in agriculture.
and nobody naw farm as there is no markets yet there is more tourists in Jamaica..
[/ QUOTE ] This is not reality, in fact the market is even bigger than before but unless local farmers pool and work together and be pro-active in researching who wants what, they will continue to be thristy when water exist all around.