<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: iches</div><div class="ubbcode-body">...in this modern time and not get some form of compensation - is down right wicked!
Does it make sense to give up your time for free, when its going to cost you personally financially? </div></div> Volunteering is for people who can afford it. It is a contribution on kind instead of cash. It is just like donating a car or clothes to worthy causes. If you can't afford it,no one expect ypu top do it. That is why it is called volunteering.
people volunbteer for different reasons,but it all comes down to the feeling you get from doing it. If you feel dis-satisfied without compensatuin,you should not do it. If you don't no one will blame you. It is for your benefit and your's only. Mot specially for the nemeficiaries. They will probly recieve the benefits through others if you don't.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: iches</div><div class="ubbcode-body">...in this modern time and not get some form of compensation - is down right wicked!
Does it make sense to give up your time for free, when its going to cost you personally financially? </div></div>Most people volunteer for the personal gratification that it gives dem. It isnt for the monetary gain.
Now, it wouldnt be wise to volunteer during a time, when u should be at work to earn money fe pay u bills. Most people I know usually volunteer during their down time.
volunteering with financial compensation is called work.!
Some ppl do get a stipend ...but dat cya pay yu personal bills.
the compensation yu get from volunteering is joy (intrinsic)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: iches</div><div class="ubbcode-body">To volunteer to any place that is bringing in money - have to pay me for my shoes bottom and travel to the site!
Its no fun doing it while others are getting paid in the end. </div></div> Different strokes ,If that floats your boat. Whatever you do, have fun at it.
what exactly is ur issue?? All the agencies hire and pay ppl to do some of the work.What yu qualified to do?? Loads of Not for Profit Aencies hire and pay ppl. Ur problem is solved !
is there another meaning fi volunteer that mi nuh know bout ? whichawt ? oxford dictionary or warrra [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img]
I wish you would all read the various comments before posting. For me personally, if I see its a money raising event for a project, I am following the money. Most time all the money does not reach the "Project" and those that "Volunteered" their time and efforts - don't know it.
Hospital is a no for me - they charge by the bed.
Classroom - only two I would do, otherwise I have to get a pair of shoes at least or a pair of pants.
Getting to the site either by bus or car (gas price is up)- some dollars have to drop, and that's me - ok! You get the time free, but not the wear and tear.
The question is: "How was the money gained was spent!"
Too many crooks are out there - if you want the job - you must volunteer for x months, and when the time come for you to go - its thank you, you were a big help! Never get the job, but it cost the person daily!
So, I am finished with this. If you want to "volunteer" do it with some sense.
A big Volunteer farm exist in Dorchester, if you want to go there!
sound like u may have been burned...
u want to share, cus me will listen..
No blame nay troow u way neither.. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70390-shhh.gif[/img]
just vent.. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
I understand the school part, but after you are out of it, start protecting some of your money, don't just Volunteer just for the sake of volunteering. Know what you are getting into and always remember this: "Whats in it for me?" "If I can't get what I want, why bother?"
Does the bill collectors understand when you say "I used some of the funds to buy gas to go to a volunteer site!"
People who like to use others for free, are smart users you have to watch out for.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.