I'm going to be in the country doing a documentary, and as a side project I'm willing to showcase businesses in Jamaica. I'm looking for interesting / farms / people with a story to tell. Hence the name, "This is my story". [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]
Documentary being filmed soon
Re: Documentary being filmed soon
sorry, but we cant give out <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Warning, Spoiler: <input type="button" class="form-button" value="Show" onclick="if (this.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName(' div')[1].getElementsByTagName('div')[0].style.display != '') { this.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('d iv')[1].getElementsByTagName('div')[0].style.display = '';this.innerText = ''; this.value = 'Hide'; } else { this.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('d iv')[1].getElementsByTagName('div')[0].style.display = 'none'; this.innerText = ''; this.value = 'Show'; }" /></div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div style="display: none;">free or</div></div></div>unsolicited information like dat pon we yardies..
A who u be massha??
u need some validation... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whatever.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ThisIsMyStory</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm going to be in the country doing a documentary, and as a side project I'm willing to showcase businesses in Jamaica. I'm looking for interesting / farms / people with a story to tell. Hence the name, "This is my story". [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img] </div></div><span style='font-size: 11pt'> Ever been there before? How knowledgeable are you about the Jamaican culture??
It won't be easy to navigate the process of shooting a documentary in the country as it may be in the US .
Since a documentary purports to be factual. It can be seen as politically damaging to the people, communities, country etc.
I have seen people loose their equipment many times in their attempt to just set up and record people.
Remember that the laws in Jamaica is not the same as US laws. ....and the people do not react the same either.
I suggest you get some permit and authorization, or you do it at your own risk, because even if a person agrees to be recorded, that does not mean the can guarantee you will be successful.
There is always doubt that the story will not be edited to make the people appear in a negative light. </span>
I'm glad I got some feedback. To answer some of the questions briefly....
Yes, I have been to Jamaica. 11X to be exact. I very much enjoy the country. I'm not a fan of super resorts or hedonistic places. I'm not a prude, but I love more of the 'mom and pop' types of places. I've been on many-a-tour and I know what I want in the movie.
The areas that we plan to film are Westmoreland and points between to the Blue Mountains. I only have three months to do this, so I'm focusing on specific issues.
I do know people there, but I don't want to use anyone that I've known for awhile. I'm going to interview some of my friends there, but I don't want people's opinions skewed due to knowing me. I'm not too worried about negative actions towards me. I don't carry myself or look like the typical filmaker. I'm 6'6, heavily tattoed, VERY friendly and laidback...I very much respect people's wishes. I've yet to find someone who outright didn't like me. I've been to much more hostile countries than Jamaica. I'm far removed from a disoriented wanderer.
I'm working on a website almost as I type this to validate who I am and what I plan to do. Its a fairly large undertaking and I'm doing the site in stages. Nothing over the top however...
Rest assured, I'm going to portray Jamaica in a positive light. I'm going to stay away from sensitive subjects of politics / religion / major aggitating subjects. Basically, I want to hear stories about The People. I want to hear stories of love, education, what the future holds, farming, fishing, enviornmental issues, crime, foreign views--good and bad.
Lastly, there is ZERO profit involved for me. Thats not a typo, I said ZERO profit. Whatever money that does come from this goes directly towards providing elementary schools with books and other supplies. That pledge and promise will be on the website--and further details about this venture.
If anyone has more questions, feel free to ask. I'm an open book!!
Yes you sound like you should be aware enough to make it a success.
I suggest one of the best avenue that you will find good source, support and possibly candidate by visiting a few schools. Tell the staff emebers what you are doing and ask for help.
You sould be able to get gpoing using that tact.
you probably will have more volunteers than you need.
Walk good..
I'm definitely planning on seeing many schools!! I have a vested interest in elementary schooling. I have a child (first one) on the way and I really believe that children need a good start academically. People in America really take education for granted...its amazing how much we really do have. I just want to give something back with this project. There is so much emotion I feel with this project--more than I can express on a forum page. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]
We've been in contact with some fundraiser's that are very interested in helping out. I'm still researching different options to make this plan come to fruition. We've been working on this for around a year now, and I can't wait to make it happen!!
I appreciate all the input from everyone. You all are very kind and good people. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]