Re: Isn't One of The First Rules of Investing....
with one employer (for whatever reason), one needs to just put a likkle bit and put that excess cash into outside investments or some plans will allow you to convert it to cash and purchase other securities (while still retaining tax advantages of the retirement account)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">thin is not the same as all the money in one stock
how do you have yours distributed?
Yes, I understand that.
Basic example is my employer retirement fund. That is managed by Fidelity and I pick and choose the funds I want them to invest with. Some do well, some not so well.
I have retirement funds from my two previous employers. All three funds are managed by different investment houses, and have their own + and -. I could have all this money rolled into one account, but I choose to keep them seperate.
Maybe me just paranoid bout me money.
I don't have all my insurance policies through the same broker either. </div></div>
but supposed you had spent you entire career with one employer? how would you have broken up the retirement funds? </div></div>
with one employer (for whatever reason), one needs to just put a likkle bit and put that excess cash into outside investments or some plans will allow you to convert it to cash and purchase other securities (while still retaining tax advantages of the retirement account)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">thin is not the same as all the money in one stock
how do you have yours distributed?
Yes, I understand that.
Basic example is my employer retirement fund. That is managed by Fidelity and I pick and choose the funds I want them to invest with. Some do well, some not so well.
I have retirement funds from my two previous employers. All three funds are managed by different investment houses, and have their own + and -. I could have all this money rolled into one account, but I choose to keep them seperate.
Maybe me just paranoid bout me money.
I don't have all my insurance policies through the same broker either. </div></div>
but supposed you had spent you entire career with one employer? how would you have broken up the retirement funds? </div></div>
dem juss put choo the trade fi yuh and tek care a the paperwork.