Hey fellow jamaicans! What a gwaan.
I'm a soon to be graduated filmmaker based in Norway and the UK. I'm a jamaican bawn n bred. Moved to these parts back in 01.
I'm co founder of a production company called Yardie Style Productions. One of the projects we currently have in development is a feature film about the whole Dudus saga. The events surrounding Coke's apprehension is seen from the perspective of a young, educated inner city Jamaican family.
The aim of the film is to give a multi-faceted look at how Jamaica's social issues blight the opportunities that are available to young Jamaicans such as the protagonists of the film. We believe the film is different because it doesn't focus on the stereotypical stories we often see coming out of Jamaica in films (violence and reggae music related most often). While the film will feature aspects of these, they will not be the focus, rather the individual dreams of the protagonists, interpersonal relationships and the day to day challenges of survival are addressed. We also believe that the film will provide enough of the Jamaican flavour foreign audiences have come to expect, thereby broadening its appeal.
As usual one of the biggest challenges of film making is the financing. We have a finance committee that is based in both Oslo and London, trying to secure funding for the film.
I'm trying to find out if there are any organisations in Jamaica or any where else in the world that you guys know of that offer grants and or partial funding for artistic pursuits such as these? Does anyone have any ideas?
Any and all feedback will be very much appreciated! Thanks!
I'm a soon to be graduated filmmaker based in Norway and the UK. I'm a jamaican bawn n bred. Moved to these parts back in 01.
I'm co founder of a production company called Yardie Style Productions. One of the projects we currently have in development is a feature film about the whole Dudus saga. The events surrounding Coke's apprehension is seen from the perspective of a young, educated inner city Jamaican family.
The aim of the film is to give a multi-faceted look at how Jamaica's social issues blight the opportunities that are available to young Jamaicans such as the protagonists of the film. We believe the film is different because it doesn't focus on the stereotypical stories we often see coming out of Jamaica in films (violence and reggae music related most often). While the film will feature aspects of these, they will not be the focus, rather the individual dreams of the protagonists, interpersonal relationships and the day to day challenges of survival are addressed. We also believe that the film will provide enough of the Jamaican flavour foreign audiences have come to expect, thereby broadening its appeal.
As usual one of the biggest challenges of film making is the financing. We have a finance committee that is based in both Oslo and London, trying to secure funding for the film.
I'm trying to find out if there are any organisations in Jamaica or any where else in the world that you guys know of that offer grants and or partial funding for artistic pursuits such as these? Does anyone have any ideas?
Any and all feedback will be very much appreciated! Thanks!