Say you have couple shilling yu waan invest....weh yu wudda put it? Thinking something long term term..say 5 yrs or so....not too long...and nothing aggressive
Skelly, I dabble in the stock market but am by no means an expert and would never pretend to be.
I do read the financial section most mornings in a couple of papers and some annalist are predicting another meltdown in the stock market before the end of the year. This could be good news for folks like you that want to get in and hold for a few years. Wait a bit and buy when the prices get real low and then sell in a few years. If I had to give advice to someone I would say invest in a well established company that has to do with providing energy (maybe not BP at the moment LOL!) or in providing some kind of raw materials that you know will always be in demand and who's demand can only increase over time.
I play the stock market and have been for years.. Last year was a very good year for me...I tend to invest in energy and raw material... I am also interested in food... /as /i am domeciled in the UK there are a tax free savings that you can invest in I do that up to the limit of £10200.00.. I also have a share account that went self financing last year.. ie I dont put any money into the account and only use sales to buy..
Unlike milo I think BP is a good buy.. I bought in at £3.30 last month £1500..into my tax free account and it is sitting at 4.10-4.20 at the moment 30% profit.. I can wait this out as I beleive that it will emerge as a better company once it exists the USA... I plan to sit this out as I unlike many have confidence in them to do the right thing in the USA..
The last investment I made was on tuesday when I bought some shares in a company called fortune oil (from dividends in my self financing account).. it is a china focus company and was rated as one of the top 5 energy companies in the UK... To be honest I have owned this stock for 10 years but nothing, happened.. recently it has added coal bed methane work in china...
I would look at a company in Denmark called Atlantic Petroleum.. I would buy this had my stock account traded in Denmark.. They are a Faroes Petroleum company and may have a strong kick in the next month.. I would alos recommend Faroese Banks.. Again these are listed on the Demnakr stock exchange and I would expect them to go vertical in the next month.. there are two of them one needs funding the outeh is secure..
Dont listen to me last month I invested £600 in a company called Dominon Petroleum when they began to drill a well and they hit a duster!
But I did well in the Falkland islands with Rockhopper, desire petroleum and Falkland oil and gas...
A Kanadian company to watch is OGX a company that has exploration interests in Guyana...
A company called Altona energy is a very interesting company.. I own stock in it and took profits already.. the reason they are sitting on the world largest un exploited coal supply, have a parnter in Chinese energy company to develop a techology to make diesel from coal... This is in Australia..
I beat the indexes on both accounts.. on the self financing it did 30% increase in value last year.. On the tax free account 10%.. In the next year I plan to start a self investing pension..
just in recent times I've started forex and have done small investments from leads provided by Wahalla. Interesting that you say food investing as I've noticed a few 'food businesses' are doing very well on the market, which surprised me. Worth looking into now that you have mentioned it. Also buying precious metal primarily silver -- the value of silver coins have gone up. This started out as a hobby and I've realised it is a worthwhile investment.
Tell me about that tax free account Wahalla. Is it primarily in the UK? Will check out those leads you mentioned. Keep them coming.
These are called ISAs.. Individual savings account.. Invest in shares limited to those on the main market.. all income on these are tax free... There is a limit of £10200.00 to invest this year.. Up from £7200 last year.. Limited to the UK...
it's a savings plan and is different from a pension plan
Wahalla if you are interested in Canadian food manufacturing businesses you may check out Vancouver Canada Bread.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I thought 401 k was a pension ? </div></div>
Tullow Energy is at the moment recruiting people consulatants to go to work in Guyana... What this means is that CGX energy who has a lot of acarage price will kick up... I have recommended this share before... I made profit in them and taken profit out twice already. and I have shares in them...At the mometn they are trading at 0.50 Kanadian cents.. If I can get any more money from my trading account I will take anotehr punt at them.. I expect the price to hump up.. However this is a higly speculative punt.. (well 50: 50 either there is comercial oil offshore Guyana or there is not!)..
At the moment I am watching tDana Petroleum . KNOC who want to take over Dana...I bought Dana about 7 years ago and have made back over 200% of my investment.. and now sit on a 122 shares of them.. at present the offer of $18.00 a share is a good kick out
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">just in recent times I've started forex and have done small investments from leads provided by Wahalla. Interesting that you say food investing as I've noticed a few 'food businesses' are doing very well on the market, which surprised me. Worth looking into now that you have mentioned it. Also buying precious metal primarily silver -- the value of silver coins have gone up. This started out as a hobby and I've realised it is a worthwhile investment.
Tell me about that tax free account Wahalla. Is it primarily in the UK? Will check out those leads you mentioned. Keep them coming. </div></div>
Food business is definitely good investment not so much the commodities market, but the food retail and distribution. This sector has grown and several U.K. and Netherlands grocery companies have made very profitable inroads into the US market.
SandiF, are there US tax benefits if I invest <span style="font-weight: bold">directly</span> in non-US stocks? My portfolio is diverse and there is investment in International stocks but they are managed through a US investment firm.
would you care to be more specific as to what tax savings you were hoping for ?
Usually tax savings occur based on how you set up the account through which you will purchase the stocks/investments i.e. "tax deferred accounts" etc
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">PZ short answer = No
would you care to be more specific as to what tax savings you were hoping for ?
Usually tax savings occur based on how you set up the account through which you will purchase the stocks/investments i.e. "tax deferred accounts" etc </div></div>
Thanks, Gen. I am getting ready to put some windfall cash into investment. I've consulted with tax lawyer and investment adviser as I want to defer the big tax payout
PZ make sure that the person selling you the stocks etc is not the same person giving you the financial advice ( conflict of interest in my opinion )
also make sure that the tax lawyer is very clear on your objectives and what you intend to achieve and hopefully he/she has experience with "trusts" as well , since you need that money to "work" and "grow" so that you eventually don't have to
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.