What's up with that. I notice that the bags Adale been coming home with tend to be increasing in value each time. I guess it is my cue to not have birthday parties cause it is hard enough just having a party much less thinking about all the invaders and gifts for them them.
mi a do sinting fi bubba first year but mi more catering to di adults. di pickney dem who will turn up are afterthoughts but mi nuh waan dem people dem look pon mi crazy so mi thinking of doing chicken nuggets, mac and cheese and maybe home made fruit punch. but i guess a goody bag would be thoughtful. problem is dat dem is all kinda age range since alex nuh really know nuhbaddy him own age - except 1 likkle girl.
The one yesterday had 3 packs of hockey cards, an angry birds tshirt mussi 2 or 3 bakugan (sp) things and some more treats... the one b4 had some gift cards
as long as the bags have in something useful/unique mi nuh care how much them cost. up to 5th grade likklegen was coming home with bags that have in all kinda fawt that get dash inna the gyarbage.
FT yes the little children at a kiddy bday party expecting a goody bag. If the kids are diff ages, put in something that will appeal to all ages otherwise customize each bag for the age
dwl -yes those things you mentioned are all fine FT. I don't give candy to the toddlers but mi try to give some little toy that nuh have lead pizen or that won't choke them.
and yes yuh waan mek at least 1 or 2 foods for the kids (nuggets, hot dogs, mini burgers) and juice box/water
yuh fi give them the goody bags right when dem a put on them jacket fi leff yuh house-suh this way dem can galang a dem yard guh mark up dem owna walls wid the crayon (or whatevah else destruction dem plan fi do)
also, you don't have to feel obligated to open the bday gifts when the other parents/children are there. nowadays most parents wait till the crowd leave them yard before them open gifts (for various reasons that mek sense)
last but not least, most pickney nah guh bleach like big people, suh if is big people party yuh a keep, expect the little baby/toddler them to crash and start buck dung the place and/or if them get candy/cake fi start bounce off the walls.
as long as the bags have in something useful/unique mi nuh care how much them cost. up to 5th grade likklegen was coming home with bags that have in all kinda fawt that get dash inna the gyarbage.
FT yes the little children at a kiddy bday party expecting a goody bag. If the kids are diff ages, put in something that will appeal to all ages otherwise customize each bag for the age
Gen I dont care for goody bags cause is usually dollar store crap (alright maybe not that bad but close) but these bags are overkill too much thought going into them ... and mi no have them kinda patience so maybe we wont have a party ... haha
some are quite creative - not just a flimsy goody bag either, but a mug with the birthday child's pic on it, for example, also I've seen mini straw bags (they do lots of straw-work here for the tourist trade, & branching out into other items), small cardboard boxes decorated with junkanoo tricks (junkanoo is VERY big here, u can substitute a carnival/reggae theme) mini bamboo plant holders, all of them of course with the 'loot' in them..
edited to add:-
junkanoo tricks means decorations, crepe paper, feathers, craft paper, beads and pearls by the yard, glitter and sequins etc.
You can cut up the cardboard boxes into custom sizes and shapes, also for a girly theme even buy ribbons, small artificial flowers to glue on the boxes etc...
What's up with that. I notice that the bags Adale been coming home with tend to be increasing in value each time. I guess it is my cue to not have birthday parties cause it is hard enough just having a party much less thinking about all the invaders and gifts for them them.
gifts can be colourful pens and pencils, post its, 6 inch rulers, erasers, small pads etc, attractively displayed in the above open decorated boxes I showed you how to make above, lol
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.