Any parents dealing with this issue? I thought it was just her at home. I would tease her that she slow just like her granpuppa...lol. But even the teacher complaining bout it and now I am wondering if is some latent passive aggressive behavior mi a see in light of the changes that have taken place in the past few years. Taking her to get evaluated next week. What unoo think?
Chronic Slowness
Originally posted by Skelly View PostAny parents dealing with this issue? I thought it was just her at home. I would tease her that she slow just like her granpuppa...lol. But even the teacher complaining bout it and now I am wondering if is some latent passive aggressive behavior mi a see in light of the changes that have taken place in the past few years. Taking her to get evaluated next week. What unoo think?
What do you mean by slowness? Taking time to put everything together?If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Maybe she is indeed "slow" like her grandfather. How did he make out in life?
This world is so fast-paced and schools and teachers have to maintain so many standards that I wonder how children, who are gifted to simply take their time to absorb their environment, function in these schools. Maybe they are more analytical?Maybe they have more capacity for a mindful approach to everyday life?
Originally posted by Skelly View PostAny parents dealing with this issue? I thought it was just her at home. I would tease her that she slow just like her granpuppa...lol. But even the teacher complaining bout it and now I am wondering if is some latent passive aggressive behavior mi a see in light of the changes that have taken place in the past few years. Taking her to get evaluated next week. What unoo think?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
evalutations are bullsh!t nuff times an dem love tell blk ppl too often dat dem child have adhd and if yuh chk most of those evalutaions have been found out to be wrong.
You know your child better than any fool a who jus a si dem fi a couple hours, you know your situation. Don't mek no overpaid psycho diagnose ur yute.
If yuh waan real info on de lies of adhd chk dr omar johnson , search him out pan uchube.
I bring up adhd caz this is the "professional" crutch especially when it come tuh black youth, aftah dat dem will subscribe ritalin, ativan, tegrathol an whateva else to ur yute.
Not only dat one dem diagnose wid sittin it stays with them for life and it will be harder for them later fi get a job or do certain things.
Slow as in taking her own sweet time to do EVERYTHING. Eating, getting dressed, basic chores. Her younger sister is much more direct when it comes to accomplishing tasks. At school it is the same. And she is always the last one to get her things together to leave the room, finish assignments, she cries sometimes that they throw her food out because lunch/snack time was over. Mind you she is VERY bright. She is 5..oops...5 and three quarters as I was corrected...and reading at a grade 2 level. But she just drag her foot with everything. She gets easily distracted and according to her "I got carried away". *sigh*
When going out, same thing.I find myself yelling at her and hurrying her because she always stray from the plan. I get her clothes and everything ready and she always find something else to wear fi slow we down even more. Or gets dressed in the wrong order before doing something like putting on lotion so she has to get undressed and start again. ALWAYS find sitten fi distract her. Abi is a master, very one track minded so if you tell her to do something she will.
Her granpuppa..how him mek out? Still slow as fawt an minding everything and everyone else business but fi him own.Last edited by Skelly; 01-11-2013, 02:46 PM.
I hear yu. But as you said I know my child better than any professional and will not poke my head in the sand if I feel something just isn't right. If I did that before then Abi probably wouldn't be talking and doing what she is doing today.Originally posted by Emperah View Postevalutations are bullsh!t nuff times an dem love tell blk ppl too often dat dem child have adhd and if yuh chk most of those evalutaions have been found out to be wrong.
You know your child better than any fool a who jus a si dem fi a couple hours, you know your situation. Don't mek no overpaid psycho diagnose ur yute.
If yuh waan real info on de lies of adhd chk dr omar johnson , search him out pan uchube.
I bring up adhd caz this is the "professional" crutch especially when it come tuh black youth, aftah dat dem will subscribe ritalin, ativan, tegrathol an whateva else to ur yute.
Not only dat one dem diagnose wid sittin it stays with them for life and it will be harder for them later fi get a job or do certain things.
Well if she gwine tek har time fi get ready, eat an dem ting deh, allocate more time fi suit har an tap bawl affa de pickney...
yuh nuh want when, 30, 40 years from now when smaddy ask wha she memba moas bout har childhood, she a go say how yuh always didda bawl afta har fi hurry up...
What is she doing that she takes so long? Is she daydreaming? Thinking about the task at hand? She sounds bright and bright people tend to get lost in their own thoughts and lose track of time.
Maybe you should set a little timer, give her extra time and then work on the 5 min warning 3 min warning, etc.. She may have not developed a sense of time and this can hep her get on track.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.