Re: Walkerswood Recipe Breakdown???
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sistacaf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">funny - just last week i couldn't get the usual jerk seasonings I typically use, and thought i'd use the Walkerswood instead. i figure it had to be 'better' since it was the real thing - and i didn't add any salt at all, but it came out WAY too salty.... my dinner guests even commented on it.
so i'm going back to my old method - i dry rub the meat with seasonings and lime juice and let that sit for a good hour, then marinate for a next hour (or overnight, even better) with a 'doctored-up' Lawry's 'caribbean jerk' marinade. (I add fresh lime& herbs, and a fresh scotch bonnet pepper to the store-bought marinade). It may not be the 'real' way its made in jamaica but it comes out tasting almost the same. and that's good enough for me!
yu haffi careful wid dis jerk seasoning enoh. Memba if yu use odda seasoning weh have salt, it ago spwile yu pot.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sistacaf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">funny - just last week i couldn't get the usual jerk seasonings I typically use, and thought i'd use the Walkerswood instead. i figure it had to be 'better' since it was the real thing - and i didn't add any salt at all, but it came out WAY too salty.... my dinner guests even commented on it.
so i'm going back to my old method - i dry rub the meat with seasonings and lime juice and let that sit for a good hour, then marinate for a next hour (or overnight, even better) with a 'doctored-up' Lawry's 'caribbean jerk' marinade. (I add fresh lime& herbs, and a fresh scotch bonnet pepper to the store-bought marinade). It may not be the 'real' way its made in jamaica but it comes out tasting almost the same. and that's good enough for me!
</div></div>yu haffi careful wid dis jerk seasoning enoh. Memba if yu use odda seasoning weh have salt, it ago spwile yu pot.