Re: Yucca Root
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: St_Bess</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Bitter cassava (as it is known in St. Bess) is grated and processed (put into a "cutokow" and pressed overnight)
mi grananty used to put that said thing inna wan hole in the ackee tree and between poles - two a top two a bottom, weighted with some big rockstone. i guess the idea was to squeeze out what was left of the toxic juice.
i hated cassava dumplings, but boy, i tell you, nothing nicer than freshly made bammy - thin and large and warm and musky. dem thick one mi buy inna farrin store hard lakka wah, only good for frying. i've bought some frozen grated cassava mi a go try mek mi own bammy one of these days.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: St_Bess</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Bitter cassava (as it is known in St. Bess) is grated and processed (put into a "cutokow" and pressed overnight)
mi grananty used to put that said thing inna wan hole in the ackee tree and between poles - two a top two a bottom, weighted with some big rockstone. i guess the idea was to squeeze out what was left of the toxic juice.
i hated cassava dumplings, but boy, i tell you, nothing nicer than freshly made bammy - thin and large and warm and musky. dem thick one mi buy inna farrin store hard lakka wah, only good for frying. i've bought some frozen grated cassava mi a go try mek mi own bammy one of these days.