Last December family took a road trip from Canada to Atlanta for a cousin's birthday/mini family reunion. On the way, we stopped at this little liquor store in Kentucky (my daughter says it was actually Tennessee) and bought, just for a laff, a bottle of Buffalo Trace Bourbon Cream.
One of my cousins from England gave us a gift of Bailey's Irish Cream, so when we got back to Canada, the Bailey's was top of mind. It's only when my daughter said - oh, let's try the Bourbon Cream that we opened it.
Well, that was the start of the joy and heartache.
Joy, because it tasted so great. Bourbon Cream is a lighter and more jolly taste than the thick traditional Baileys. My daughter loved it so much i more or less gave her the bottle.
Heartache, because apparently no where else in the US or Canada besides that little shop in Kentucky (or Tennessee) sells Buffalo Trace Bourbon Cream. My daughter went to Miami on spring break and hunted high and low, couldnt find it. Not even at duty free.

My parents just came back from a month in Florida, i asked them to stop off in Kentucky /Tennessee at the same liquor store and buy three bottles of the bourbon cream.
You guessed it. They brought back three bottles of bourbon.
So i'm awash in bourbon, and hunting home made recipes for bourbon cream. I've found one that uses condensed milk, chocolate syrup and vanilla flavouring. I've seen others that suggest using eggs. I've found a lot more recipes for making home made Bailey's and am pondering if I should adapt those for bourbon.
Any ideas?
One of my cousins from England gave us a gift of Bailey's Irish Cream, so when we got back to Canada, the Bailey's was top of mind. It's only when my daughter said - oh, let's try the Bourbon Cream that we opened it.

Well, that was the start of the joy and heartache.
Joy, because it tasted so great. Bourbon Cream is a lighter and more jolly taste than the thick traditional Baileys. My daughter loved it so much i more or less gave her the bottle.
Heartache, because apparently no where else in the US or Canada besides that little shop in Kentucky (or Tennessee) sells Buffalo Trace Bourbon Cream. My daughter went to Miami on spring break and hunted high and low, couldnt find it. Not even at duty free.

My parents just came back from a month in Florida, i asked them to stop off in Kentucky /Tennessee at the same liquor store and buy three bottles of the bourbon cream.
You guessed it. They brought back three bottles of bourbon.

So i'm awash in bourbon, and hunting home made recipes for bourbon cream. I've found one that uses condensed milk, chocolate syrup and vanilla flavouring. I've seen others that suggest using eggs. I've found a lot more recipes for making home made Bailey's and am pondering if I should adapt those for bourbon.
Any ideas?

Going to look for this infamous bourbon cream around Maryland for m'lady MGee
how shipping contraband wuk?