What brand unoo buy? Mi buy several different ones an dem all taste like regular curry to me.... mi looking for one with a sweetish taste to it... the latest one mi buy is di INDI brand...mi nuh use it yet but mi will si tomorrow...
Good question I'm waiting on an answer too. So far I have not been able to stomache indian curry so have been sticking with Jamaican curry and the varying Thai 'curries'.
Curry powder or paste is a combination of spices and so vary from brand to brand and from region to region but having used many different brands and types I agree with Skellion that they all taste pretty much the same.
Curry Chicken Recipe
Ingredients:
Two cans of coconut milk
fish sauce (Vietnamese Nuc Maam) about two tablespoons
garlic
couple of onions or a bunch of scallions
bamboo shoots
curry powder or paste
about a pound of chicken tenders or one cut-up broiler depending on whether or not you like your curry chicken with skin and bones in it.
Sugar snap peas and/or green peas and/or string beans
Chop up and saute the onions until just a little brown and then add a clove or two of garlic pressed and cook lightly.
Toss in the rest of the ingredients but not the green vegetables and cook about 40 minutes on a low heat .
Add the vegetables at the end and don't overcook them.
The sauce dish can be thickened with a couple of tablespoons of flour mixed in cold water before adding.
Serve with Basmati rice if you can get it. Plain regular rice is also just fine.
Side dish:
Pineapple pieces browned over low heat for about ten-fifteen minutes in butter or until the pan turns brown from the pineapple sugar and butter then deglazed (add a little water to the pan and swish it around until all the brown stuff sticking to the pan is loosened and gets into the pineapple pieces)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Error403_0</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Lalahs .dat adi bes one if yu wan inian curry </div></div>
Yea man Sue burn the curry especially when making curry shrimp, because you dont cook the shrimp long.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">addi first mi a hear bout the burn curry situation. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i'm gonna try it now. you guys would be surprised at the amount of cooking skillz mi pick up right here. </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.