Last night I threw ginger, garlic, EVO, Balsamic vin and likkle soy sauce in the blender. mek it sit over night in the fridge wid a tups of brwn sugar.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MrsKurlie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I am having the ginger dressing on my salad right now </div></div>you mek it? what in deh?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">the ginger and the balsamic are 2 strong flavahs, sound like dem gwine puddung one peeca fighting inna yuh mouth </div></div>
I got this recipe from L'Escogriffe a now gone restaurant in Les Halles section of Paris in 1980. I have used almost nothing else on my salads since then.
That's how much my wife and I like it.
Ail et Creme/ Creamy Garlic Dressing.
Ingredients: Fresh garlic -never garlic powder or garlic salt.
Canola or other light vegetable oil
Vinegar- I prefer apple cider vinegar but regular white or cane
will do nicely.
Heavy cream or low-fat plain yogurt if you're watching calories.
salt and pepper
To make a small amount to try out:
Put a clove of garlic through a press into a bowl large enough to hold the ingredients and mix them with a whisk.
Add about a quarter teaspoon of salt and mash it into the garlic pieces with the back of a soup spoon until you have a smooth paste. This avoids chunks of garlic in the dressing.
Add 1/4 cup of yogurt/cream and two tablespoons of vinegar and whisk till smooth. Then add 1/4 cup of oil a bit at a time and whisk until smooth.
The order in which the ingredients are mixed ensure that the finished product stays blended/homogenized and will not separate.
If you like it, you can just multiply the units and make a large amount.
I make a bout two quarts and store it in a 2-liter plastic soda bottle.
It keeps a long time. I've never thrown any away but then, we use a lot of it.
It also makes a nice dressing on sandwiches/rollups such as smoked turkey/provolone/lettuce.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.