what's your favrite maple syrup for pancakes ? brand ?
real maple syrup
Re: real maple syrup
when we go to the maple tree
cut into it and wait fi the syrup
<span style="font-size: 14pt"><span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">NOT!</span></span>
I forget but I do know seh ie dear noh backfoot but mi find a brand eena marshalls dat was quite tasty
Highland Sugarworks Grade A Dark Amber Pure Maple SyrupIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
no. no. no. and no.
you have to get Grade B maple syrup. the aunt jemima stuff has been so refined as to render it just as nice as corn syrup made from *ugh*
there's a canadian one that you can get SweetSop. try the health/bulk food stores your way and ask for the grade B. A litre will run you around 19$ and well worth it for the taste and nutrients that haven't been leached out due to over processing.
you're welcome
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: I_Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sue what is the difference in the grades of Syrup?
eg is grade A less refined than grade B, etc etc? </div></div>
same ting like rqw cane sugar nd granulatede sugar. they don't resemble the natural prouduct much
<span style="font-style: italic">mi nevah use ie, but mi knoh yuh look 'organic'</span>
--->> deandeluca.com
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: I_Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sue what is the difference in the grades of Syrup?</div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">Maple Syrup Grades</span>
Pure maple syrup is graded according to Federal USDA regulations, and is based on both color and flavor. The grades are: US Grade A Light Amber, US Grade A Medium Amber, US Grade A Dark Amber, and US Grade B. Some states use a slightly different terminology, as does Canada, but the legal requirements for each grade are the same, regardless of what they are called. For example: Grade A Light Amber syrup is sometimes called Fancy Grade, and in Canada it is called No. 1 Extra Light.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Characteristics of each grade</span>
<span style="text-decoration: underline">Grade A Light Amber</span>, is very light and has a mild, more delicate maple flavor. It is usually made earlier in the season when the weather is colder. This is the best grade for making maple candy and maple cream.
<span style="text-decoration: underline">Grade A Medium Amber</span>, is a bit darker, and has a bit more maple flavor. It is the most popular grade of table syrup, and is usually made after the sugaring season begins to warm, about mid-season.
<span style="text-decoration: underline">Grade A Dark Amber</span>, is darker yet, with a stronger maple flavor. It is usually made later in the season as the days get longer and warmer.
<span style="text-decoration: underline">Grade B</span>, sometimes called Cooking Syrup, is made late in the season, and is very dark, with a very strong maple flavor, as well as some caramel flavor. Although many people use this for table syrup; because of its strong flavor, it's often used for cooking, baking, and flavoring in special foods.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Which Grade is better?</span>
All maple syrup grades are better than the artificial stuff. Otherwise it's strictly a matter of personal choice. Ask yourself (or someone else) these questions: Which is better, white wine or red wine? Which is better, light beer or dark beer? Beer can probably be compared most easily to the different maple syrup grades/flavors. A light Pilsner beer has a light color and delicate flavor, while a Stout or Porter has a very dark color and strong flavor. It's strictly a matter of personal choice, and there isn't one grade of maple syrup that is "better" than another.
<span style="font-weight: bold">What makes the different grades?</span>
Maple producers have no control over which grade they make. As a rule of thumb, lighter syrup is made earlier in the season, and darker syrup is made later. But since we are dealing with Mother Nature in our business, anything can happen. Producers have seen years where 95% of the annual crop was light amber syrup, and some years yield almost no light syrup at all, when most of the crop is dark syrup. During the six-week maple production season, the weather goes from cold to warm as spring pushes aside the cold of winter. Additionally, the trees themselves undergo metabolic and chemical changes as they go from winter dormancy to springtime activity. The tree buds start to form towards the end of the sugaring season, about a month before they open up into small leaves. These changes cause differences in maple syrup flavor as the season progresses. Experiment with the different grades, and continue to buy what you like the best.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: chitown</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">mi nevah use ie, but mi knoh yuh look 'organic'</span>
--->> deandeluca.com
you need fi shop ah dem place wid armored truck.
dem come in like...mi nuh even know.
but dem mek a wicked scone. every time mi go up ah booyawk mi get some.
mi could eat one now
Aunt Jemima & other inexpensive "Pancake Syrups" don't have much to do with real maple syrup.
Maple Flavored Corn Syrup.
AUNT JEMIMA INGREDIENTS: CORN SYRUP, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, WATER, CELLULOSE GUM, CARAMEL COLOR, SALT, SODIUM BENZOATE AND SORBIC ACID (PRESERVATIVES), ARTIFICIAL AND NATURAL FLAVORS, SODIUM HEXAMETAPHOSPHATE.
Mrs Butterworth: INGREDIENTS:
High fructose corn syrup, corn syrup, water, salt, cellulose gum, molasses, potassium sorbate (preservative), sodium hexametaphosphate, citric acid, caramel color, natural and artificial flavors.
The taste difference is amazing.
Real Maple syrup isn't just sweet, it's rich, almost buttery.
Nothing like the real thing.
You can get a small jug or bottle here for under $10, I would never use it more than once a year anyway, so it's no big deal to splurge on it.
suh why unnu a talk bout aunt jemima when mi a ask fi the real ting
anyway, chitown mi not going to dean and deluca dem too teef yuh nuh see seh all the tin look it mek outa platinum
reglah brand not gourmet brand mi a look fah.
someting to put on likklegen pancake please weh she wont spit out
and nuh taste like molasses
Just heard a story recently on NPR which said that Canada which traditionally produces the bulk of maple syrup in the world, is having a severe shortage due to (I believe) the weather.
Vermont is another big producer and is looking forward to picking up some of the Canadian loss but cannot really effect the shortage so everyone can expect the price, already high, to skyrocket.
Aunt Jemima