Add to Recipe Box
My folders:
Add to Shopping List
Customize Recipe
Add a Personal Note
What to Drink?
Zinfandel
DIRECTIONS
Place diced lamb in a bowl, toss with 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, and set aside. In a large resealable bag, toss together the paprika, turmeric, cumin, cayenne, cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, salt, ginger, saffron, garlic powder, and coriander; mix well. Add the lamb to the bag, and toss around to coat well. Refrigerate at least 8 hours, preferably overnight.
Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large, heavy bottomed pot over medium-high heat. Add 1/3 of the lamb, and brown well. Remove to a plate, and repeat with remaining lamb. Add onions and carrots to the pot and cook for 5 minutes. Stir in the fresh garlic and ginger; continue cooking for an additional 5 minutes. Return the lamb to the pot and stir in the lemon zest, chicken broth, tomato paste, and honey. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for 1 1/2 to 2 hours, stirring occasionally, until the meat is tender.
If the consistency of the tagine is too thin, you may thicken it with a mixture of cornstarch and water during the last 5 minutes now mi haffi goh buy lamb. cho.
Saffron finds a variety of uses in India and abroad. In India, it is used as a herb in Ayurvedic Medicines which heal a variety of diseases ranging from Arthritis to Impotence and Infertility. It is known to have aphrodisiac properties and is widely used in Asia and the Middle East as such. Chinese and Tibetan Medicine also find many uses of this exotic herb.
It is an essential commodity in high quality milk/cream based confectioneries and Mughlai dishes in India wherein it imparts a rich colour and distinctive flavour.
The fact is that Indians in general are crazy about this exotic spice. In India, to serve dishes laced with saffron is regarded as a mark of honour to the guest and has become the norm rather than an exception. In fact the average use of this spice in even a middle class family wedding in the state of Rajasthan and Gujarat is about 250 gms!
Due to the large number of experienced users in India and the frequency of the use also being very high, the consumer in India is very discerning. After having tried the product of other countries, he prefers the local variety above all others and Kashmiri Saffron commands a premium over the rest even in India and the locally produced saffron is priced higher than that available of Spain or Iran.
In the western world it is used primarily as a spice. But it is also discovering its uses as a health tonic which naturally does not have side effects. About 50 mg of Saffron dissolved in a glass of 200ml milk and a spoonful of sugar makes a very tasty drink which is also a health tonic. A regular intake of this every day for a period of time enables the body to build resistance against a lot of common diseases such as Asthma, Common colds claim Ayurvedic Practitioners. But beware, do not to expect it to act as a magic potion because it is essential to have a regular intake for it to be effective.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: DoneWidDem_ILP</div><div class="ubbcode-body">lawd mi did OD pon saffron when mi was in spain...
those were the days.
now mi pocket heng dung sakah how mi cyan afford di saffron </div></div>
PM mi you address caz mi have the portuguese shap juss by me which is where i got it.
i'm honestly going down to the kabul supermarket for hallal lamb so i can make that lamb dish.
it's said to be the most expensive spice in the world but that's because it's so light. $1.29 probably buys you less than an ounce.
Sue - i have a great cleansing soup called North African Spiced Soup that I cook every now and then that uses saffron. I'll dig it up and post it when i reach home tonight.
This is a cleansing vegetarian soup i've used in a detox program. i made some last night because it's also a warming soup and today is expected to be very cold.
<span style="font-style: italic">serves 6</span>
1 large onion, chopped
5 cups vegetable stock
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground turmeric
1 tbsp grated fresh ginger
pinch cayenne pepper
2 carrots, diced
2 celery sticks, diced
14 oz can chopped tomatoes
1 1b potatoes (<span style="font-style: italic">about 2 medium sized</span>)
5 strands saffron (<span style="font-style: italic">fimmi dem did crumble up so mi juss use a pinch</span>)
14 oz can chick peas, drained
2 tbsp chopped fresh coriander (<span style="font-style: italic">i substituted flat leaf parsley last night</span>)
1 tbsp lemon juice
freshly ground black pepper
wedges of lemon to serve
1. Place the onion in a large pot with 1 1/4 cups of the vegetable stock. Simmer gently for about 10 minutes.
2. Meanwhile, mix together the cinnamon, turmeric, ginger and cayenne pepper. Add about 2 tbsp of the vegetable stock and mix together to form a paste.
3. Stir the spicy paste into the onion mixture and add the chopped carrots, celery and the remaining vegetable stock.
4. Bring the mixture back to a boil, stirring, and reduce the heat. Cover the saucepan with a lid and gently simmer for a further 5 minutes.
5. Add the tomatoes and potatoes and simmer gently, covered, for 20 minutes. Add the saffron, chickpeas, coriander and lemon juice. Add pepper to taste, and when piping hot, serve with wedges of lemon.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.