Do you feel that Jamaicans, in particular, men in particular, are extremely stubborn about trying new foods or cooking a different way than what they are used to, or actually doing ANYTHING different than the way they are accustomed to?
Question for the Yaadies
Re: Question for the Yaadies
I've found that women are much more likely and even anxious to try new foods & different preparations....can't quite figure out why.
I'm pretty well versed in cooking many ethnicities of meals and if my husband sees me doing ANYTHING different in preparation than the way HE does it, I hear nuff noise and sometimes he even refuses to eat it at all! Wha mek??
Talk about having "tunnel vision"!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ja. Jewel</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I've found that women are much more likely and even anxious to try new foods & different preparations....can't quite figure out why.
I'm pretty well versed in cooking many ethnicities of meals and if my husband sees me doing ANYTHING different in preparation than the way HE does it, I hear nuff noise and sometimes he even refuses to eat it at all! Wha mek??
Talk about having "tunnel vision"! </div></div> It is the same reason why we don;t like the regular changimng of the furniture.
I'm really not one to constantly change the furniture around, but I do not mind change and I'm always interested to see new ways to do things, especially if they seem logical to me.
I am American & my husband is Jamaican so there are a myriad of differences in the way we do things. I am pretty good at being "flexible", which is why I've been able to live in Jamaica for the past 4 years, but I've always been of the mind that "learning" sometimes requires "change" and it's not a BAD thing! There is always more than one way of doing things and no ONE is the RIGHT way....they are just DIFFERENT ways.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiny</div><div class="ubbcode-body">him will only eat pasta when nothing else in the house and him hungry like dawg... </div></div>
...that's one of the few things my husband WILL eat that's not Jamaican....but I make my sauce from scratch and add sweet peppers, lots of garlic & fresh basil, onions & some country pepper to hot it up a likkle. He also likes alot of parmesan cheese on it. He won't eat alot, but he will eat it without complaining. One time I made it with canned sauce & one taste & he wouldn't touch it!
He likes sliced eggplant, breaded with parmesan cheese & bread crumbs & fried, but when I made it into egplant parmesan (with mozzarella cheese and sauce, baked), one mouthful was all he ate...did not like it!
For me it's a trial & error thing, but he can't be in the kitchen when I cook or he tries to take over. The dogs or me get what he doesn't like, because I hate to waste food when it's so expensive.
He will not eat soup unless I put "spicey cock soup" mix in it. I'm trying to avoid the MSG, but he likes the flavor.
Mi no yaadie but mi do have cookin experience in Jamaica.
I have cooked quite a few of "my food" meals for Jamaican friends and they ate it with vigor, everytime. What it took was one to try it first, and tell them "yes this is good"!
In particular, was the time I brought Minnesota pure Grade A Wild Rice and cooked that. I even smuggled in the celery because it was not always available and when you can find it, it was expensive. ( besides...who wants to go to town and grocery shop when it's a 2 or 3 hour ordeal to get there and back?
It is a long black rice shaped grain that grows wild in our area lakes and has a Native American food staple origin. I mixed it with chicken, onion, carrot, and cock soup for seasoning. I cooked it over a wood fire and kind of had an audience because they all saw the rice before I started to cook it. I heard, "that not rice, that rice cousin". I just smiled and shook my head yes and said, exactly!
When it was time for it to be eaten, there wasn't a line! But when one person went ahead and tasted it and went back for more, then everyone else joined in and had a nice feast of Minnesota wild grown wild rice.
After that I cooked all sorts of fun things for the yard and it was always eaten right up. Refried bean burritos were a big hit! I brought my favorite tortilla's and Wisconsin cheddar cheese, of course.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"that not rice, that rice cousin".</div></div>
today's good laugh

I can just hear one of them say that
JA Jewel, when we moved to Canada it took YEARS and I do mean YEARS before my dad would eat anything non-jamaican. And of course being his kids that meant us too
but somewhere along the line, I think with just life in general here where u dont have a whole heap of time, we got to eat out on occasion and eventually things did change.
by time I was a teenager, he would take me to new restuarants to try things. He still woulndnt take us to McDonald's but a sit-down dinner of say Italian food was alright.
Ironically, dad taught me the most important thing about trying new foods cause I was kinda picky because of him...when we were a a restaurant and I refused to try something he said, "just take a bite, and if you dont like it just spit it back out"
most freeing words on the planet coming and to come from him was funny
but I can now see that his words he had applied to himself at one point and it allowed him to try things outside of his comfort zone.
Half the battle is just trying something to see if u even like it or not. And more times than not, when u try something u find out that there are many things to enjoy out there.
Maybe try the same philosophy with your husband and see if it helps
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nylah</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"that not rice, that rice cousin".</div></div>
today's good laugh

I can just hear one of them say that
JA Jewel, when we moved to Canada it took YEARS and I do mean YEARS before my dad would eat anything non-jamaican. And of course being his kids that meant us too
but somewhere along the line, I think with just life in general here where u dont have a whole heap of time, we got to eat out on occasion and eventually things did change.
by time I was a teenager, he would take me to new restuarants to try things. He still woulndnt take us to McDonald's but a sit-down dinner of say Italian food was alright.
Ironically, dad taught me the most important thing about trying new foods cause I was kinda picky because of him...when we were a a restaurant and I refused to try something he said, "just take a bite, and if you dont like it just spit it back out"
most freeing words on the planet coming and to come from him was funny
but I can now see that his words he had applied to himself at one point and it allowed him to try things outside of his comfort zone.
Half the battle is just trying something to see if u even like it or not. And more times than not, when u try something u find out that there are many things to enjoy out there.
Maybe try the same philosophy with your husband and see if it helps
You mean tell him to try one bite and if he doesn't like it, he can spit it out?!
...when he attemps to try something new, the bite that he takes is SO minimal that it's not even a "taste"! The funniest face (about 10 different ones) I ever saw him make was when he tried key lime pie....wish I would have had my camera!