Ok I need to find out the seasoning used when cooking crab. Just got back from JA (no pics sadly) and went out for crab night, I need to know how to make this because goodness was it tasty. I had garlic crab and hot and spicy, anyone know what seasonings are generally used when Jamaicans do up the crab?
Crab! need to find out the seasoning used whe
Re: Crab! need to find out the seasoning used whe
try this, search through the recipes mebbe yu find something
Were you in Negril and go to the crab festival at the Sunset Bar here in the deep West End? I was there for that night. The bar is owned by my neighbors which means I can go ask them for you. But if it wasn't there then I don't know how the crab was prepared that you ate.
I was in kingston, but if you can ask the neighbours in Negril that would be great, not sure if it will be the same but I can always test it and see, thing is the recipes I've found so far online aren't for crab made this way, it's for crab cakes and the like. the place I went in Kingstons had different flavours but they all had the same base. I'm trying to find that out so I can try doing some of it here at home. so if you can ask I'd really appreciate it. thanks!
use some all purpose seasoning, chop up some gawlick onion nuff pepper...fish/sea food season and odda powda seasoning as needed...wen mi a cook mi just fling in tings
but just so u know di farrin crab weh dem breed up inna tank naw go taste di same. not to metnion if u buy just di crab meat nah go taste di same as yard crab weh dem ketch a bush.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Curry Crab Rundung</span>
2 tablespoons canola oil
1 onion, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 teaspoons finely grated fresh ginger
2 teaspoons curry powder
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
3/4 teaspoon ground allspice
3 tomatoes—peeled, seeded and coarsely chopped
1/2 teaspoon minced Scotch bonnet (habanero will do)
1 teaspoon chopped thyme
Salt and freshly ground pepper
2 cups unsweetened coconut milk
1 cup water
1 pound lump crabmeat
In a deep, medium skillet, heat the oil. Add the onion and cook over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and ginger and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Stir in the curry powder, turmeric and allspice and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Add the tomatoes, Scotch bonnet and thyme and season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the tomatoes are just beginning to soften, about 2 minutes. Add the coconut milk and water and bring to a boil. Simmer over low heat, stirring occasionally, until the sauce is reduced by one-third, about 15 minutes.
Stir the crab into the sauce and cook just until heated through, about 2 minutes.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Grayskull</div><div class="ubbcode-body">thanks, a bit vague bit I'll take it!
I'm ready for the crab to be a bit different but it's the seasoning I'm really interested in. thanks again. </div></div>
gwey
a cook yuh cyan cook bout vague
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: missus_vegas</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Grayskull</div><div class="ubbcode-body">thanks, a bit vague bit I'll take it!
I'm ready for the crab to be a bit different but it's the seasoning I'm really interested in. thanks again. </div></div>
gwey
a cook yuh cyan cook bout vague
I haven't been able to try cooking it yet, money is too tight to think about buying crab, but if anyone has any more recipes please post em, I would love to try a bunch of different ways to cook crab.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i bought the frozen soft shell blue crabs. they were disgusting.
nothing worse than bad seafood. well there are a few things worse, but still.