I need some tips on roasting a whole pig,anyone on here done it before...?
Roasting a pig
Re: Roasting a pig
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I need some tips on roasting a whole pig,anyone on here done it before...? </div></div>
I had it at a country wedding up here and it was terrible, bland and tasteless.
You planning on doing it hawai style? that look like it would cook nice and tender.
Clearly I have nothing of use to offer
but when you do roast it please post di directions an how it turn out.
is suckling pig you roasting?
too bad you don't have *i think* them churrusqueiras there, you could just go buy a freshly roasted one. the portueguese do them whole all the time. there's a place just down the road from me.
man that must take one hellava lot of energy to roast an entire pig. if you season it right, it wouldn't be bland at all.
the chinese them do it as well. then they heng it in the window. i've tried theirs. not nice at all and smell raw.
i guess a baby pig wouldn't take as much energy to prepare and could probably fit on one rack in the fridge when you're seasoning it jamaican style soh ie can soak out wid di seasonings.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I need some tips on roasting a whole pig,anyone on here done it before...? </div></div>
I had it at a country wedding up here and it was terrible, bland and tasteless.
You planning on doing it hawai style? that look like it would cook nice and tender.
Clearly I have nothing of use to offer
but when you do roast it please post di directions an how it turn out.
is suckling pig you roasting? </div></div>
I dont really know what kind of pig as yet,I`m planning a likkle event a yard soon and want to do sup`m different,I remember as a youth I attended some rich people tings an dem did have wan whole roast hog all wid de apple eeenah him mout,...It stuck in my mind and I thought I could do something like that for a change.
nooooooooooooooooooooo...good lord...you gotta gut the pig.
the way i've seen it done is over a barrel...the pig is skewered and put on a rotisserie...with coals in the bottom of the barrel. i assume you have to keep adding more coal.
you need some good bean hole beans with that.