Wheat Gluten or called mià n jÄ«n in Chinese (traditional : 麵ç‹, simplified : é¢ç‹, literally “noodle/dough tendon”; also spelled mien chin or mien ching) is one of my favourite “vegetarian” ingredients. My mum was taught how to make wheat gluten (we call it mee kun in hokkien or meen kan in cantonese) by a neighbour in Kuching many years back. It is not as easy to get this in the market compared to tofu-based products and it is usually associated with vegetarian dishes. I will come up with a vegetarian recipe in the next post.
Upon discovering the simplicity of making the wheat gluten, I realised how much profit the manufacturers would be making. All you need is flour to knead into a dough, water to wash the dough and oil to fry the gluten. I must encourage you to make this on your own because it is absolutely easy, not to mention healthy as you are making it from your own kitchen. Moreover, it is quite an experience to make it for the first time as you will be amazed (just like me) on how the dough transforms into a rubbery texture (gluten) after washing it in running water.
Method
Place flour into a suitable bowl for kneading. Add salt. Gradually add water as you knead the flour into a dough and let it stand for 2 hours covered by a piece of moist cloth.
With the dough resting in a bowl, place bowl in kitchen sink and turn on the tap. Allow water from tap (medium flow) to run into the bowl and start kneading dough in the running water. Yes, keep kneading and washing the dough. The water will turn milky as the starch will be washed away but keep kneading. The dough will eventually shrink to about 20% its original size and it will feel rubbery. Keep kneading till the water becomes clear. Remove and drain.
Heat oil in wok. Pinch a piece of washed dough (it’s like rubber) about 2cm x 2cm and fry it till it puffs up and turns golden brown. Manage the heat from the stove so that the oil does not over heat. Dish up and place on kitchen napkins to absorb excess
*but wait noh dis pure flowwa dis? mi dih tink a sitt'n special*
i won't delete this just in case there's any interest.
since mi a chat tu misself, mi goh fi fine di dyam gluten. di dyam shiny people dem noh know weh mi a chat bout, even doah it is shiny!!!. worsa yet mi ney wear mi running shooz, mi wear mi tek time shooz and ting seh mi aggoh getti dis heevling fi stawt tinnite. i'll try the tamil shop. i know i've seen it someplace. anyway the beast is grunting. mi bettah goh tek him out before him stawt bawk. he's sitting by the door making noises and giving me puppy eyes
i've been a vegetarian since i was 17 and never see the need for meat substitute.. jus like i don't see the need for substitute fir all tgh other things i don'r eat although othrt peoply think they RE good<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Wheat gluten is a meat substitute. there's a vegetarian restaurant i go to that makes very convincing "meat" using this stuff.
going to pick up some of this at lunch time. over time, I will be experimenting and let you guys know how it goes.
if anyone has any recipes to share, please be kind enough to do so. </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.