annybaddy pan here ever cook it. bought some yesterday. marinating it in seasoned soya, cayenne and sesame. if i don't post after tomorrow, you'll know what happened.
skate
Re: skate
thank god for google
It is remarkable how common skate has become on restaurant menus. Its not yet well known to home cooks. Skate is a delectable fish with a mild flavor and-if cooked properly- delicate texture. Incorrectly prepared, it can be tough and fibrous. A kind of ray, it has a flat body and a short, spineless tail. It is found in oceans worldwide, weighing an where from several pounds to 2 tons. The wings are the only edible portion.
Skate improves when left to stand refrigerated for a day or two. As it matures, the flesh becomes firmer and more palatable. When purchased, it has usually been aged slightly.
This is the first skate recipe I learned as a young cook. It is a classic, still popular today. It calls for dredging the skate wings in milk and flour and then sautéing them in butter or oil. A quick caper-butter sauce is then made and poured over the fish.
4 boneless, skinless skate wings
(about 1-1/2 pounds total)
1/2 cup milk
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
4 tablespoons all-purpose flour for dredging
3 tablespoons vegetable or corn oil
4 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup sweet red peppers,
cut into 1/4 inch cubes
1/3 cup drained capers
2 tablespoons finely chopped shallots
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
4 tablespoons finely chopped parsley
1. Put the skate fillets in a dish large enough to hold them in one layer. Pour the milk over them and sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste. Turn the fillets in the milk so they are coated on both sides.
2. Scatter the flour over a large dish. Lightly dredge the fillets on both sides in the flour.
3. Heat the oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high setting. When the oil is hot but not smoking, add the fillets. If it is necessary to do this in two batches, use the same oil. Sauté on one side until golden brown, about 3 minutes. Turn and cook on the other side until golden brown, about 3 minutes more. When the fillets are done, transfer them to a warm platter or serving plate.
4. Wipe out the pan with a paper towel and return it to the heat. Melt the butter and add the red peppers, shaking the pan frequently until the butter turns light brown. Add the capers, cook briefly, and add the shallots, vinegar, and parsley. Cook briefly then stir and pour the sauce over each fillet evenly. Serve immediately.
Buy the Book!
Cooking with the 60-Minute Gourmet
300 Rediscovered Recipes From
Pierre Franey's Classic New York Times Column
By Pierre Franey and Bryan Miller
Times Books, August 1999
Hardback, $30.00
ISBN: 0-8129-3094-0
Recipe Reprinted by permission.
fram yassoh
decided it would be perfect for a simple Chinese preparation, Salt & Pepper style. I’ve never had skate in a Chinese restaurant so this is not a classic dish, but more my interpretation.
Salt & Pepper Skate
~makes two entree portions
Ingredients
1/4 cup Cornstarch
1/4 cup Cornmeal
9.5 ounces Skate Strips
2 teaspoons Vegetable Oil + enough for frying
1/2 cup Sliced Onions
Kosher Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
Instructions
1. In a medium sized bowl, mix together corn starch and cornmeal. Toss skate strips in and coat evenly.
2. Heat frying oil in a wok. Prepare a bowl with paper towel on the side. Fry skate strips (you may need to do it in 2 batches) and put finished strips on paper towels. Sprinkle with a generous amount of salt and pepper.
i'll try this one.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mi rah. noh whipry? a di sed ting weh kill that annoying crocodile dildo guy.
is that a boy or girl skate
and I must say mi noh think mi palate dat adventurous to try thisIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mi nat even kno wha sue a talk bout</div></div>
Me needa, Sweets. Mi did tink yuh was gwine ask bout di crocodile bway. Ah who him?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">unnu tan deh. a experiment mi aggoh experiment pan a certain smaddy. mi aggoh cook it wid chinese veggie, taro noodles and juss watch him face when himma it ie. den if him seh ie tase good, mi wih eat it too.
bout unno tan deh
somethings I need to <span style="font-weight: bold">not </span>see in their natural forms before I could eat them...the above is one of such forms
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">/quote]
Me needa, Sweets. Mi did tink yuh was gwine ask bout di crocodile bway. Ah who him? </div></div>
i are shackked appalled and astonishiated.
he's even unleashed his evil spawn Bindi the crocodile girl on us
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nylah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">somethings I need to <span style="font-weight: bold">not </span>see in their natural forms before I could eat them...the above is one of such forms </div></div>
there's a certain amount of truth to that.
Nylah. i'm not generally a starch person, except cornmeal and brown rice and 7 grain oriental sitt'n. but got the taro noodles in a korean resto as an appetizer and i was hooked.
you can't really see them here because they're see through. but dem delicate and all dem need is a bit of sesame oil. i use bok choy and the bean sprout and just a wee bit of the noodles. lawd. it nice cyant done.
taro noodles are very delicious. i've tried skate (i think - some kinna flat fish anyway)
fuss ting - mi seet and never realize the skin did still deh pan it. choo it did flat, i thought it was already filleted, and mi a try cut it and a wonder why it naa cut so easy.
second - it very easy to overcook. havent had the heart to try it again - mi still kinda creeped out over the skin.