So I got this big bag of Allspice, jamaicans call it Pimento anyone have a recipe for <span style="font-weight: bold">Allspice/Pimento Wine</span>. I had it once in jamaica and was told it was home made. No use asking contacts in jamaica they will just say oh we dont do that we buy everything at the store
It is the cherry allspice that is used to make wine/liquor.
It is the green one that is dried and sold as seasoning/spice
. just like you didn't know green bananas. You need to learn about cherry ripe pimento too.
Good luck. <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Stormy1</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So I got this big bag of Allspice, jamaicans call it Pimento anyone have a recipe for <span style="font-weight: bold">Allspice/Pimento Wine</span>. I had it once in jamaica and was told it was home made. No use asking contacts in jamaica they will just say oh we dont do that we buy everything at the store </div></div>
It used to be (still is?) called <span style="font-weight: bold">Pimento Dram</span> in Jamaica. My mother used to make it for Christmas. You can google the recipe as I did and found this:
Jamaican Pimento Dram (Allspice Liqueur) No. 3
2-1/4 cups 151 proof Demerara rum.
1/2 cup whole dried allspice berries, crushed.
3 cups water.
1-1/2 pounds brown sugar.
Crush the allspice berries in a mortar and place in a 1-liter jar with a rubber seal. Cover with the rum and allow to steep for at least 10 days, agitating the maceration daily.
Pour through a fine strainer, pressing on the solids to extract as much liquor as you can, then pour the strained liquor maceration through another strainer lined with a coffee filter (this'll take a while).
Make a simple syrup with the water and brown sugar; heat until dissolved, then allow to cool. When cool, combine with the rum maceration and allow to age for at least one month. Decant and enjoy.
Thanx Peasie, am going to show to mr.stormmey see if he will make it. What is mortar can you use food processor. I see you say let it sit for a month you kidding right
dat one peasie post taste like medicine an will mek yu belch out yu tripehole
The one Dr referenced is made from the ripe pimento berry I used to eat those all the while when mi used to spend mi whole summer a pick pimento an dry pimento an rub pimento mi still traumatised
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Stormmey1</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thanx Peasie, am going to show to mr.stormmey see if he will make it. What is mortar can you use food processor. I see you say let it sit for a month you kidding right
Licking my chops right about now </div></div>
u can use a coffee grinder to grind it instead of a motar
an yes is the ripe pimento that u use to make Pimento Liqueur
i remember my ,mom making it when i was little and it was a long drawn out process
but infortunately that is among a number of thinks that i regretted not learning to make from mu mom and grandmother and there is no recipe.
A few years ago I bought a bottle of Pimento Liqueur and a friend came over and i offered some...wrong thing i did that person drank the whole bottle as if it was wine and since that i have not been lucky to get anymore.
Well Tanyer I hear what you are saying bout the burp out your intestines, why yu trying to traumatize me
Anyway mr. stormmey sez he can work with that recipe, and to combat the regurgitation and the medicine taste like Tanyer says, he will add some angostura (sp)bitters to it and stuff like clove, likkle cinnamon and some sweet wine what the hell dem expect me to do wid so much Allspice balls and cinnamon leaves they sent (they really crisp) juss because I told them I like the taste dem send a ton of the stuff come gimme.
And no am not ungrateful it juss 2 much. Me jamaican granmere
Well Peasie we start the process of the liquer, actually am just watching him crushing the beads with a big bottle in a huge plastic container while sipping some rum and coke. him ask me how is that helping hiim
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.