my new favourite fish..first time I ever had..but a relative talked it so much the other day..from the preparation to the actual nyammi sng...i had to follow fashion and buy some.. really simple preparation..let it sit in some lemon juice, black peppa, salt, lemon black pepper and grilled it up with some onions..scrumptious
Blue fish is large like Tuna,Marlin etc. <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Vegas</div><div class="ubbcode-body">blue fish...dat sound like parot </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Blue fish is large like Tuna,Marlin etc. <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Vegas</div><div class="ubbcode-body">blue fish...dat sound like parot </div></div> </div></div>
yes, the person who spoke to me about it said she got a huge, everlasting one....
Bluefish is a northern Atlantic fish. They migrate up and down the U.S. east coast about the same time as the striped bass. They are school (group) fish and voracious eaters of smaller fish that also school
They are the best to eat when fresh caught and can get too strong tasting when allowed to sit.
One really bad thing about bluefish is the amount of mercury they contain.
The power plants of the United States which burn coal put out a lot of mercury which winds up in the lakes, rivers and ocean and which is picked up by small organisms eaten by very small fish which are then eaten by bigger fish and so on up to the biggest predators like the tuna, striped bass and bluefish. The mercury concentrates in fish as they eat more and more of the mercury tainted fish they prey on and the biggest fish are eating the bigger of the prey fish in which the concentrations are heavier.
Like striped bass, tuna and kingfish (Caribbean) which all prey on smaller fish, they absorb all the mercury from every fish they eat and it stays in their bodies which WE eat.
Pregnant women are told not to eat too much canned tuna and little or none of the fresh water fish in states like Massachusetts whose lakes, ponds and rivers are ALL heavily polluted with the toxic mercury like most states downwind from the power plants of the middle states like Ohio.
I'd read up on mercury contamination of fish at Google were I you..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">boston blue fish is very nice. that's probably what it was. </div></div>
I would tell you how I've caught bluefish on Cape Cod from the shoreline many moons ago. And I would tell you how it is a great fish to catch because they fight like heck! And I would tell you how my at the time filleted it on the beach and we packed it on ice and cooked it later.
I would tell you all of this, not because you won't believe me, but because oonu would cuss mi bout mi stocious
the person who introduced me to it probably never even heard of cape cod is smaddy whey normally only eat yawd food..(a yam and bannana she wax it down wid)it down wid..so i actually thought it was a fish jamaicans eat a yawd
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">boston blue fish is very nice. that's probably what it was. </div></div>
I would tell you how I've caught bluefish on Cape Cod from the shoreline many moons ago. And I would tell you how it is a great fish to catch because they fight like heck! And I would tell you how my at the time filleted it on the beach and we packed it on ice and cooked it later.
I would tell you all of this, not because you won't believe me, but because oonu would cuss mi bout mi stocious </div></div>
well thanks..JC..you've managed to put a damper on my enthusiasm for the flavourful one
mine definitely sat...so mebbe that strong flavour is what i liked..though it did not seem particular strong to me..just handled the lemon and spices quite nicely..
Jaded, if you soak in buttermilk then let sit on a sieve for a few minutes to drain before cooking it any method, you would get rid of the oily taste. It's some good eatin fish
I've had them cut into thick steaks season with black pepper old bay seasoning sazon and put on grill
it doens't break up as quick cuz it's a thicker white fish.
before or during teh grilling stir fry onions thyme add 1 tsp walkerswood jerk seasoning and 1/4 cup bbq sauce (thick and smoky or sinting like suh)
remove fish from grill while piping hot (it will seem dry) with sauce piping hot drizzle over the fish toss a few times gently so fish doesn't break and cover tightly in a sealed container mek di steam from both kinda soften di fish.
serve with baked potato (my recipe - wash idaho potatoes, wrap tightly in saran wrap and microwave for 8 mins)
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.