Re: Who are some of the people who have influenced you kitchen
Wow Twiny, that is a really nice compliment
Mine are the same as Pepper. Granny was a good good cook and Daddy was surprisingly creative with combining seemlingly disparate items together. That's what makes me what to try new flavour combinations.
And two cousins. One that lives here who I learned much from and showed me great patience. She taught me how to "eyeball" amounts. I just couldnt get the hang of it from Granny
And my next cousin M in England. Same age as me but that girl is a natural born cook. She could make beans and toast taste like a symphony in your mouth...I dont know how she does it but I cant wait to see her soon
Otherwise, to be perfectly honest, other influences have come from some of the personalities on the Food Network:<span style="font-weight: bold"> Jamie Oliver, David Rocco, Mario Bartli and Emerial from 10 yrs ago</span>.
They are all cooks that do it from an organic (in terms of their approach) POV. Even their cookbooks arent too tough on measurements and the recipes are simple and rustic. Plus their enthusiam is highly contagious which goes a really long way.
And lastly, this site many of you who contribute to this forum - have renewed my love of food and have made me seek and try new things
It's funny that we all seem too have male influences somewhere in there...
For me it was 2 of my older brothers whom I lived with after I moved to Kingston for higher studies - Until then (I was 16) I had no clue in the kitchen - did not even know how to boil an egg **shame** (mi modda and Ms. Lillian (de helpa) used to run mi outta de kitchen wen mi used to go in deh)
Thing is they (my brothers) were vegetarians so I learnt how to make vegeburgers out of oats of all things and several other creative dishes and learn how fe boil rice (NO Comments!)
After that another helper took over until I started living on my own and bought a few cook books (THe Real Taste of Jamaica by Enid Donaldson is my Bible)
Funny enough after I left home and started cooking and called back home that is when my mom started sharing cooking tips and secrets a lot with Asian influences...
I used to LOVE Iron Chef before they brought it to America and missa man an me used to have cook offs.
He' a very good cook so we challenge each other and that has led me to experiment with many different dishes...
One thing I have learnt is that there is no right or wrong way to do any dish - nor is there ever only one way - the art of cooking is something which continues to evolve and change with each cook that experiments or adds another ingredient.
I do love to cook though - for me it is a passion that never gets old - mussi troo mi craven an love mi belly -
My influence has been my son. When im did bout two or chree, im bawlout outta road affa me "You're not a good cooker!"
Truth is I have a passion for food and cooking. Discovered it only after I had the kid and this passion has steadily grown. I will get enamored with different cuisines at different times of my life, and I tend to be very single minded. So while I'm swallowed up with Italian, I will read, watch and try all things Italian.
I've done the same with East Asian and French.
Some years back when I was in a serious funk, I applied for a part time job as a cook though I've had no formal experience.
I used to be so anxious to get out of work every day just so that I could go to my cooking job.
mine come from mi granny and mi madda - other stuff I kinda just picked up and perfected. I watch a lot of cooking shows and find myself cooking italian food of all things lately.
I'm experimenting more and more with more traditional american dishes these days
It took a long time to learn how to <span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="font-size: 26pt">STEAM</span></span> rice <span style="font-style: italic"><span style="font-size: 8pt">mi chrow mi cawn mi nuh call no fowl</span></span>
Re: Who are some of the people who have influenced you kitch
mine is my aunt and daddy. di two ah dem cyan throw down in the kitchen...
from there i've expanded to other areas (ie. indian, italian, spanish). i love to watch Giada DeLerentes on the Food Network and Tyler Florence. Bobby Flay sometimes. I get to see new ways of doing things and introductions of new ingredients and flavors.
My grilling <span style="text-decoration: line-through">skills</span> appreciation...I've gotten from di current mr ilp.
Re: Who are some of the people who have influenced you kitch
mummy and granny
granny show mi how to season and cook pan open fire
granny show mi how to cook rice shelly
mummy show mi how to cook beef mek it tender with killing it again.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.