... any suggestions?
Food for a Wake
Re: Food for a Wake
Traditionally it would be comfort foods from the deceased's culture.
Will it be served after the service or a repass (sp) or brought to the home of the family members of the deceased.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Finger food only:
Tea sandwiches
Crudites
Cookies
Punch
Don't make a lot of food. Not everyone wants to eat. Have plenty of punch, soda, water available.
Absolutely no alcohol. Grief and liquor is a recipe for disaster
Relative gwine get jrunk an bawl out seh dem si deceased duppy
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
what about serving something the deceased liked? </div></div>
the deceased won't be eating. </div></div>

how yu knoe dat..yu neva hear bout duppy nyamming food?
anyways..what i meant was food they liked....in memory of them...when my mom passed they were certain dishes everyone knew she loved...i would have loved to be able so serve all of them..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">... any suggestions? </div></div>
are you taking food to the wake or are you having the wake
if you are having the wake - other folks bring stuff to you and you serve whatever other folks bring to you - when my mom died i didn't cook a dyam thing - folks bought food over to us
if you are going to a wake - a card with money in it, a cake or other dessert item
ETA: the repass food is prepared by the church or "community"
now this is African American culture - that nine night feed everybody thing that Jamaican's do cost
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
what about serving something the deceased liked? </div></div>
the deceased won't be eating. </div></div>