I love the taste, smell and flavour of pimento. But it's pretty nasty biting into one of those seeds. what do do when you cook with pimento seeds..pick dem out? Or yu juss use pimento powder?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I love the taste, smell and flavour of pimento. But it's pretty nasty biting into one of those seeds. what do do when you cook with pimento seeds..pick dem out? Or yu juss use pimento powder? </div></div>
Depends on what I'm cooking; sometimes I use the seeds whole, or crush them and add them to stews/curry etc.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I love the taste, smell and flavour of pimento. But it's pretty nasty biting into one of those seeds. what do do when you cook with pimento seeds..pick dem out? Or yu juss use pimento powder? </div></div>
buy one of those marble or wood mini gounder things.soon find a pic. grind up the seeds into powder. or u can do it the ghetto way(the way i do cus mi no have no grinder) get a clean dish cloth and put the seeds in den get a heavy object an beat it.
Crush them with a coffee grinder before using it in cooking. <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I love the taste, smell and flavour of pimento. But it's pretty nasty biting into one of those seeds. what do do when you cook with pimento seeds..pick dem out? Or yu juss use pimento powder? </div></div>
pimento is delicious, stew peas it cant mek widdout it, fish, curry goat, chicken, rice n peas, i use it almost daily, and i hear it has many health benefits, esp for boy children, so me hear~
i use it whole, den pick dem out....or grind it up as much as I can,
i gween haffe get one of the marble grinders~~
i think its good for black pepper too, better to have the whole and gring it, dan to use the powder~
I am fond of it in the escoveitch fish vinegar. Don't even mind biting into it. Other than that dish, I treat it like bay leaves and remove when I'm done cooking. I would not mind grinding it up but have never done it yet.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.