Anybody have any good recipes for jack? I filleted a 13 lb. jack today and will use the head portions for hubby & make soup from the bones & tail, but need some recipes for all those nice fileted portions that I save for guests....watcha got??
Jack fish recipes?
Re: Jack fish recipes?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">escovich is the best in my opinion.jack fish has a very strong flesh that can take the frying and stewing. </div></div>
I usually do escovitch jack, & was going to do some of it that way, but thought maybe someone out there had some other varieties of recipes that might work.....
Jack fish is a kind of mackerel. They do well, as you know, fried crisp and dressed with escoveitch seasonings
Fish tacos are very popular and I think would lend itself well to Jack fish. JaJewel, maybe you can use a fillet in this recipe:
<span style="font-weight: bold">Fish Tacos</span>
* 3 Tbsp. fresh cilantro leaves, minced
* 2 clv garlic, chopped
* 1 x juice of 2 limes
* 1/2 c. orange juice
* 2 ounce tequila
* 1/2 tsp grnd cumin
* 1/2 tsp grnd chili pwdr
* 1 lb fresh fish fillets
* 1/4 c. red onion, diced
* 8 med flour tortillas, warmed
* 2 c. romaine or possibly iceberg lettuce, shredded
* 1 c. jack cheese, grated
* 1 x ripe avocado, diced
* 1 c. fresh tomato, diced
Directions
1. In a large bowl, combine first 7 ingredients. Cover and chill for 30 min. Remove fish from marinade and throw away marinade. Cook fish either on barbecue, in skillet or possibly under broiler. Break cooked fish apart into small chunks. Place an equal portion of fish into each tortilla. Top with remaining ingredients.
I found this recipe on the web and adapted it for jack fish fillets
<span style="font-weight: bold">Baked Jack Fish</span>
1 pound Jack fish fillets
Salt and pepper
2 Medium tomatoes (substitute 'cooking tomatoes'
4 teaspoons Green onion -- chopped
sprig or two of fresh thyme
Green scotch bonnet pepper - one likkle slice chopped finely
2 teaspoons Butter
1/2 cup Shredded Monterey jack cheese
Preparation
Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place fish fillets in lightly greased baking dish. Sprinkle fish with salt and pepper. In a bowl, combine tomato, onion and thyme; spoon over fish.
Dot fish with butter. Bake for about 8 to 10 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork. Turn off the oven. Sprinkle fish with cheese and return to oven just to melt the cheese.
SERVING SUGGESTIONS: Serve with steamed green cho-cho, yellow yam (or roast yam) and a big salad.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Vegas</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mi have some cousins and one time dem whole family got food poisoning from jack fish...dats all i know bout jack fish...apparently u fi only eat jack fish weh ketch certain time a year or something so...
Vegas, yuh sure is Jack Fish and not barracuda?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Vegas</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mi have some cousins and one time dem whole family got food poisoning from jack fish...dats all i know bout jack fish...apparently u fi only eat jack fish weh ketch certain time a year or something so...
mi no sure but i am pretty sure it was jack fish
u want mi ask one a dem?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Vegas</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mi have some cousins and one time dem whole family got food poisoning from jack fish...dats all i know bout jack fish...apparently u fi only eat jack fish weh ketch certain time a year or something so...
Think it must have been barracuda.....recently 4 people in our neighborhood got poisoned by eating a huge barracuda & all had to go to the hospital
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Jack fish is a kind of mackerel. They do well, as you know, fried crisp and dressed with escoveitch seasonings
Fish tacos are very popular and I think would lend itself well to Jack fish. JaJewel, maybe you can use a fillet in this recipe:
<span style="font-weight: bold">Fish Tacos</span>
* 3 Tbsp. fresh cilantro leaves, minced
* 2 clv garlic, chopped
* 1 x juice of 2 limes
* 1/2 c. orange juice
* 2 ounce tequila
* 1/2 tsp grnd cumin
* 1/2 tsp grnd chili pwdr
* 1 lb fresh fish fillets
* 1/4 c. red onion, diced
* 8 med flour tortillas, warmed
* 2 c. romaine or possibly iceberg lettuce, shredded
* 1 c. jack cheese, grated
* 1 x ripe avocado, diced
* 1 c. fresh tomato, diced
Directions
1. In a large bowl, combine first 7 ingredients. Cover and chill for 30 min. Remove fish from marinade and throw away marinade. Cook fish either on barbecue, in skillet or possibly under broiler. Break cooked fish apart into small chunks. Place an equal portion of fish into each tortilla. Top with remaining ingredients. </div></div>
That does sound good
,but have no fresh cilantro...waiting for my next guest too carry seeds (dried just doesn't make it)....and pear outta season right now, but when I get the ingredients, I will definately try it!Thanks!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I found this recipe on the web and adapted it for jack fish fillets
<span style="font-weight: bold">Baked Jack Fish</span>
1 pound Jack fish fillets
Salt and pepper
2 Medium tomatoes (substitute 'cooking tomatoes'
4 teaspoons Green onion -- chopped
sprig or two of fresh thyme
Green scotch bonnet pepper - one likkle slice chopped finely
2 teaspoons Butter
1/2 cup Shredded Monterey jack cheese
Preparation
Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place fish fillets in lightly greased baking dish. Sprinkle fish with salt and pepper. In a bowl, combine tomato, onion and thyme; spoon over fish.
Dot fish with butter. Bake for about 8 to 10 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork. Turn off the oven. Sprinkle fish with cheese and return to oven just to melt the cheese.
SERVING SUGGESTIONS: Serve with steamed green cho-cho, yellow yam (or roast yam) and a big salad.
This one sound delicious & I can get all the ingredients....will try it soon....thanks!