I cooked swordfish for the first time..what a lovely fish!!..me cyan believe I've overlooked it all these yrs...i think it's my new favourite..lol
Swordfish
Re: Swordfish
very basic seasoning of lemon juice, sea salt, pepper,lemon pepper, garlic powder..and because my taste buds are on the spicier side..i made slits and stuffed them with litte pieces of scotch bonnet
then on to grill skillet..oh lawd it was practically orgasmic
Seveen is right.
Search on mercury in fish on Google and you'll find swordfish is relatively high in mercury.
Also check out mercury poisoning at Google.
That said, swordfish is a marvelous eating fish. You need add nothing and either broil it and then add lemon. butter, salt, pepper when on your plate or grill it.
It is a firm steak fish and will hold together when you grill it if you handle it carefully. I like it grilled using apple wood chips in the grill.
The absolute best piece of fish I ever had was a piece of sailfish cooked up at the (now long gone) Golden Sunset restaurant in Negril.
It was the whitest fish I have ever seen and had the texture of swordfish but much, much more tender and sweeter.
That was twenty years ago and I still remember that meal.
Next best was marlin also served at the Golden Sunset a few days earlier.
....................or maybe it was all due to the ganja.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Seveen, I beg yuh. Please don't come jack up the thing like albacore tuna. </div></div>
oh lawd..I was just thinking not again
..'cept i think it was bluefish dat dem mash up
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Seveen, I beg yuh. Please don't come jack up the thing like albacore tuna. </div></div>
oh lawd..I was just thinking not again
..'cept i think it was bluefish dat dem mash up </div></div>
I missed that thread, but I saw the signs. I had someone on another board mash up tuna after I had bought dayum near a case of it from Costco.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Seveen is right.
Search on mercury in fish on Google and you'll find swordfish is relatively high in mercury.
Also check out mercury poisoning at Google.
That said, swordfish is a marvelous eating fish. You need add nothing and either broil it and then add lemon. butter, salt, pepper when on your plate or grill it.
It is a firm steak fish and will hold together when you grill it if you handle it carefully. I like it grilled using apple wood chips in the grill.
The absolute best piece of fish I ever had was a piece of sailfish cooked up at the (now long gone) Golden Sunset restaurant in Negril.
It was the whitest fish I have ever seen and had the texture of swordfish but much, much more tender and sweeter.
That was twenty years ago and I still remember that meal.
Next best was marlin also served at the Golden Sunset a few days earlier.
....................or maybe it was all due to the ganja. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">tuna is supposed to be high in mercury too</div></div>
Folks wrecking my nerves.
While I'm now in danger of going where I asked Seveen not to go: Debate Rages On Risk Of Mercury In Fish.