anyone cook with? do you use it instead of onion or with?
Shallots
Re: Shallots
I finally tried them after hearing about them forever on cooking shows. I used them instead of onions.
They remind me of red onions but they are a little on the sweet side. IMHO they were a waste of money. Too little product, too small, and too mild in taste for the cost.
I would recommend at least trying them so you can form your own opinion. You might like them.
thanks, Tulip you confirmed my concerns about the "mild onion" flavour..i came really close to picking some up yesterday...but they are on the cost and flavour wise I didn't want to take the risk so i put them back down
plus I know i've had them at restaurants and the fact that me cyaan recall the flavour is not a good thing
I use them primarily when I am doing Beef Roasts - I add them to the pot when I am adjusting the seasonings and cooking them down to get a nice gravy. I find when I use regular onions that the flavor is too strong. The shallots give it just the right amount of flavor without being overbearing.
I have used them to stuff my roast chicken also - worked out well
mi nuh really use dem fe nutten else... IMO - they are nto fro every day cooking
@ Jaded and Pepper, only if I were growing them in my garden would I consider using them again. I would definitely not pay for them. I think maybe they could work in tuna salad or potato salad or something like that.
@ Jazz, see I never found the onion taste overpowering in roast, etc. I think it may be a good choice for people who feel the same way you do.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ILP_ULOOK_GR8</div><div class="ubbcode-body">actually i use shallots all the time.
i use it mainly with veggies when i think using onions would overpower the flavor.
made some salad dressing the other day and used shallots instead of onions. </div></div>
So tell me about the salad dressing. How you made it and what else you put in it?
this is the basic recipe i got from smaddy on this website (i think it was Taner) anyhow...this is the fail safe one, but you really can sub ingredients for your mood/taste.
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1 clove crushed garlic
1 teaspoon ground mustard
1 pinch salt
ground black pepper to taste
sometimes i leave out the mustard, i prefer shallots most times to garlic, other times is put in orange marmalade, other times brown sugar or honey. oh sometimes i use canola oil instead of olive oil. the only must haves is the balsamic & the oil.
Thanks, I'm going to try this today with the garlic of course. I use a lot of oil and vinegar dressing but have become more fond of red wine vinegar than balsamic. Never added ground mustard before though so I am really looking forward to testing it out.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ILP_ULOOK_GR8</div><div class="ubbcode-body">this is the basic recipe i got from smaddy on this website (i think it was Taner) anyhow...this is the fail safe one, but you really can sub ingredients for your mood/taste.
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1 clove crushed garlic
1 teaspoon ground mustard
1 pinch salt
ground black pepper to taste
sometimes i leave out the mustard, i prefer shallots most times to garlic, other times is put in orange marmalade, other times brown sugar or honey. oh sometimes i use canola oil instead of olive oil. the only must haves is the balsamic & the oil.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">shalotts -- are they the same thing for scallion? or spring onions? </div></div>
Not all. This looks like a good picture of them so you can see the inside too. But they are small which you can't really tell on the pic.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">anyone cook with? do you use it instead of onion or with? </div></div>
You know, I never have....it was just the other day I was thinking to myself, I should buy one the next time I make potato salad....cut it up fine and add it....I love onions!
You use a small amount for a big bang. It can have a sweeter, sharper taste. It good man