Who use them and how?
Parsnips
Re: Parsnips
So they look like beige carrots.
Well, Tanya you seem to be the resident expert. How do you like them best?
Twiney, I can't wait to hear what your test subjects say about your recipe.
Yes it is after 7 and I'm hungry again. The overnighter is already sleep so it seems I'm going to have to turn cougar.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiney</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Who use them and how? </div></div>
i cook a traditional fish soup weh we cook a yaad, but when i do the light broth type I use this along with other veggies I don't put yams in it and they taste great
I grate it and create a kinda slaw with it too as a vege side
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So they look like beige carrots.
Well, Tanya you seem to be the <span style="color: #CC0000"><span style="font-weight: bold">resident GOOGLE expert</span></span>. How do you like them best?
Twiney, I can't wait to hear what your test subjects say about your recipe.
Yes it is after 7 and I'm hungry again. The overnighter is already sleep so it seems I'm going to have to turn cougar. </div></div>
I love parsnips!!!
I grew up eating them...and usually with a Sunday roast beef dinner. I usually slice them with carrots and glaze them with brown sugar, ginger and butter.....Yummm...
Parsnips have a very strong taste on their own, but are a wonderful veggie. They tend to be forgotten....and not very popular.
[/img]
This is the recipe on my food blog....if you are interested.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiney</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I've been fascinated by them but afraid to buy them until yesterday. So will share the recipe that I used and a pic will tell unno what my guinea pigs think tomorrow
So feedback:
- my mexican fren "you can get married now"
- everybody else loved it and no body never dash it weh and yes mi watch the plate them.
Recipe I used
Carrot and Parsnip Medley
1/3 cup butter
4 medium carrots, peeled and sliced
4 parsnips, peeled and cut into rounds
1 level tsp grated ginger
1/2 tsp grated nutmeg
salt and pepper
juice of 1 lemon (I used 2 tsp of apple cider vinegar)
2 tsp fine sugar
chopped parsley (I used oregano and a garlic and herb mix)
1. Melt the butter in a large pan and add the carrots and parsnips
2. Saute very gently for 2-3 minutes then add the ginger, nutmeg, seasoning,lemon juice and enough water to cover the vegetables.
3. Cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes until the vegetables are soft and the liquid has evaporated.
4. Add the sugar and increase the heat tossing the vegetables until they are glossy.
5. Transfer to a heated serving dish and sprinkle with the chopped parsley (them say any chopped fresh herbs may be substituted)