I'm planning a surprise birthday party,I'm on a budget and need help with the menu.I'm making beef patties,pineapple,watermelon and mangoes for appetizers.Mixed salad,chicken brown stew,peas and rice,braised chayotes,fried plantains and festival for dinner.I would love to have a second entree but budget doesn't allow.Oxtails or escovitch fish or what other dish?Any other suggestions? There will be 40 guests.Thanks in advance.
Jamaican Party Food
Re: Jamaican Party Food
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: windella</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm planning a surprise birthday party,I'm on a budget and need help with the menu.I'm making beef patties,pineapple,watermelon and mangoes for appetizers.Mixed salad,chicken brown stew,peas and rice,braised chayotes,fried plantains and festival for dinner.I would love to have a second entree but budget doesn't allow.Oxtails or escovitch fish or what other dish?Any other suggestions? There will be 40 guests.Thanks in advance. </div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">definitely oxtail</span>you just cannot omit the oxtail from the menu.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: windella</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm planning a surprise birthday party,I'm on a budget and need help with the menu.I'm making beef patties,pineapple,watermelon and mangoes for appetizers.Mixed salad,chicken brown stew,peas and rice,braised chayotes,fried plantains and festival for dinner.I would love to have a second entree but budget doesn't allow.Oxtails or escovitch fish or what other dish?Any other suggestions? There will be 40 guests.Thanks in advance. </div></div>
Jerk some chicken Windella
your menu sounds nice!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: windella</div><div class="ubbcode-body">No,I'm from California.I just love Jamaican food. </div></div>
and Jamaicans say rice and peas (red kidney beans). we put the rice first
and di brown stew before di chicken
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: windella</div><div class="ubbcode-body">No,I'm from California.I just love Jamaican food. </div></div>
DWL
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: FrenchTickla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and di brown stew before di chicken 
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: windella</div><div class="ubbcode-body">No,I'm from California.I just love Jamaican food. </div></div>
</div></div> </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Stormmey1</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-weight: bold">definitely oxtail</span>you just cannot omit the oxtail from the menu. </div></div>
I was going to post up in here and then thought how in the world can I chime in lol? I was going to say rice and peas should be a good cheap dish.
But the reason I'm quoting you is because I want to know where folks are buying oxtails. The ones I buy are sky high. It doesn't make sense for them to charge even more than they do for cuts of steak that I never eat except at restaurants.
So as far as budget shopping goes, where are folks buying oxtails for the old school price?

you a cook fi fawty people
hope the patties are cocktail size .... personally I find it easier to juss buy them than mek dem...and more cost effective for that number.