It smell so good dat mi no even wan fi wash mi hand.. Oonoo harvess every ting so fi miss di cole... Mi a go harvess all mi mint
Mi Juss harvess all mi thyme
Re: Mi Juss harvess all mi thyme
I have thyme growing in several odd spots in my yard outside the herb garden, probably from seeds wind or bird sown. When I mow the yard there is always the smell of the freshly cut thyme in the air.
Really nice.
They were predicting possible frost last night so I went out and harvested what lettuce and arugula I could including seed pods from the arugula for next year's garden.
No frost last so we'll be out today harvesting chives and garlic chives to chop up and freeze for the winter. We still have a couple of plummie tomatoes that are on volunteer plants in the nasturtium bed. We used compost for the bed and the tomato seeds were in the compost and three plants just popped up amidst the flowers around August.
Not the best tomatoes since the seeds came from store-bought tomatoes but still better than the originals.
We also harvested the Concord grapes and got enough processed to make about six pies over the winter. Lotta work.
All the little frogs in the water garden disappeared during the summer and were probably eaten by the small (two foot) garter snake that I saw with one frog halfway down it's throat. Once they were gone a really big frog took up residence in the pond but it too disappeared when the weather turned cool, probably gone off to find a pond bottom to winter through.
Our two semi-tame red squirrels, the hummingbirds, the robins have also disappeared and probably gone off to their winter quarters.
The oak trees are raining down acorns not too different from last years bumper crop so I guess we'll have herds of gray squirrels, chipmunks and mice next year since they'll have a lot of food.
At night the pair of Great Horned owls hoot back and forth in the woods nearby and I expect they're getting plenty of mice to eat given the great number of them this year.
I pruned all the blueberry bushes but don't know why I bother since the birds and the chipmunks get all the berries even before they have ripened.. Interesting that the blue jays seem to be the ones that really go after the blueberries. All we get from the blueberry bushes both wild and cultivated is the wonderful fragrance when they are in flower in early summer. We had a pair of robins nest in one of the bushes this summer and the bird feeder was and still is mobbed by lots of goldfinches, House finches which produced a lot of babies this year along with the usual titmice, chickadees, cardinals, flickers, woodpeckers, mourning doves, grackles the occasional English sparrow .
Okay that's all for the yard report for this year.
Time to break out the leaf rakes and the snow shovels.
(GROAN!)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It smell so good dat mi no even wan fi wash mi hand.. Oonoo harvess every ting so fi miss di cole... Mi a go harvess all mi mint </div></div>
Yuh hav any feva grass, or rosemerry?!
My thyme is so bushy -- I rarely use it but I have a number of herbs which I just grow and never use to season the pot
This makes me feel like cooking something today and adding a bit of thyme and basil to it... mi nuh know what that may be though
Missa man plant Thyme, Scotch B, Mint and Strawberries... couple times mi feget an buy thyme wen mi go ah de supamawkit - wah peece ah cussin mi get wen mi reach home
- bout how im slave (is wan likle pot dem inna yuh nuh
) fe plant fresh herbs fe we an mi nuh appreciate it \o/ 
Anyway - we not going to harvest or bring them in until later in the year - it nuh really dat cold dung dis side yet
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It smell so good dat mi no even wan fi wash mi hand.. Oonoo harvess every ting so fi miss di cole... Mi a go harvess all mi mint </div></div>
Yuh hav any feva grass, or rosemerry?! </div></div>
mi ha mint n mi need fi harvess di ress..it get burn wen di freeze gwane lass week
wen mi come bak from yaad mi crush it eena glass a mek drinks...nice u see
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My thyme is so bushy -- I rarely use it but I have a number of herbs which I just grow and never use to season the pot
This makes me feel like cooking something today and adding a bit of thyme and basil to it... mi nuh know what that may be though </div></div>
mi going wholescale next spring...big planting mi a go do,...mi tinking of renting an allotment also fi put een some cawn n red peas an ochro...plus mi sista did pull up mi pepper n escallion so mi need fi do nuff come spring
evanovitch a wey you dey fi dis whole sale landscaping and planting? red peas to rah LOL!
the amount of okro pods I had left over from last winter... mi not even know if the seeds will be good for next year's spring planting. I forgot to plant them this year...