Ok i know it sounds gross now but back in the days (maybe as children) did u used to eat fry chicken skin?mi memba wen granny used to tek off the skin an the fowl batty mi granfada used to fry it criss an us kids loved it. Chicken is being prepared rite now an mi just pass a pile of chicken skins destin for the garbage an mi memba the good ole days. Lol. I dare not try it now maybe mi go vamit fi days.
Fry chicken skin
Re: Fry chicken skin
Thank God we didn't have that tradition in our house.
Ungle thing I remember about fowl batty is that when someone was talking too much, the saying was 'yuh mouth a flap like fowl batty'.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
Chopped (Chicken) Liver , a form of pate is a dish that is common in traditional Jewish cooking.
One of the essential and more deadly (cholesterol) ingredients is rendered chicken fat which is made by taking the fat that is usually found in big pieces at the opening of the body cavity down by the tail and chopping it up in to small pieces and rendering it (separating the liquid fat from the connective tissue) by frying it over a low flame with chopped onion. The resulting liquid fat comes out with an onion flavor and is added to the chopped livers for moisture and the flavor.
The little bits of connective tissue and the browned onion bits if allowed to fry turn brown and crispy and if you take them and just salt them they taste just heavenly.
You may also get a good case of heartburn from eating these which are commonly called cracklings and not too dissimilar from fried pork rinds in a way.
Chopped Liver -Jewish Style
1 lb chicken livers cooked til done in a fry pan
4 hard boiled eggs (boil gently 15 minutes)
2-3 tablespoons grated sweet onion or slightly less regular onion (add slowly to taste)
Rendered chicken fat (as above to moisten and flavor- if you want to cut the cholesterol and fat mix the rendered chicken fat with regular vegetable oil) and use maybe a quarter cup.
Nuff salt (to taste)
Chop up fine or use a food processor to get it to a fairly smooth texture. Best eaten right then at room temperature.
Best on Ritz Crackers.
If your ethnic group doesn't eat or like chicken livers, this is not for you.
If you do make this appetizer, keep a defibrillator handy for when your heart stops from all the cholesterol.
We used to farm chicken, when the ladies used to come to pluck the chickens, they would chuck the fat in a big pot and render it down. This was part of the 'brawta' they would take home each day. Until they started fighting over it.....
But I do remember the 'fry fry' as they used to call it, bwoy it did sweet...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes I USED to fry up the chicken skin and eat it.
That was before my cholesterol went way up.</div></div>
riiiiiight ... cause now you just stickin to the healthy fried <span style="font-style: italic">cheese</span>, eh?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">soh unnu tear off the delicious mouth watering KFC and Popeye's chicken skin and dash ie weh
? </div></div>
That's not what she is talking about. We never took the excess skin off a chicken and fried it just so.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sistacaf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes I USED to fry up the chicken skin and eat it.
That was before my cholesterol went way up.</div></div>
riiiiiight ... cause now you just stickin to the healthy fried <span style="font-style: italic">cheese</span>, eh?
Yes, yes Sistacaf,
but I take my cholesterol medication and I'm down to around 170.
I can have a glass of chicken fat with every meal if i want to.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Ungle thing I remember about fowl batty is that when someone was talking too much, the saying was 'yuh mouth a flap like fowl batty'. </div></div>
In my house we called it the "Pawson Nose" and it did favor Rev. Baker (from England) nose fi true
In my husband's family from Virginia, they called it "The Last Part" as in, the last part that jumped over the fence.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i got that Pepper, just in my mind it's the same. but when i read the graphics, eg. the ladies fighting over the fat, i'm just
No sah, cooked chicken with the skin still attached and just so so fried skin...dat a two diffrant category.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
what pepper seh