Ever heard about Egg Fruit?
Re: Ever heard about Egg Fruit?
<span style="font-size: 14pt">"I always considered Loofah to be nothing more than an oddity grown to create sponges and was surprised to learn that certain loofah varieties are not only edible, but actually very delicious."</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-size: 14pt">"I always considered Loofah to be nothing more than an oddity grown to create sponges and was surprised to learn that certain loofah varieties are not only edible, but actually very delicious."</span>
My jamaican granmama made this once in jamaica for me......she said is the young one she use.....not yet mature....she calls Loofah strainer
anyway she makes it with codfish.....tasted like chuchu to me as she also makes chuchu with codfish.
i grew some in my garden stormmey. I posted the pictures here. they were 16 inches long at the time and still growing. yes. dem taste good wid saltfish.
<span style="font-style: italic">still wondering why di boad stretch out soh</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i grew some in my garden stormmey. I posted the pictures here. they were 16 inches long at the time and still growing. yes. dem taste good wid saltfish.
<span style="font-style: italic">still wondering why di boad stretch out soh</span> </div></div>
interesting!! I never knew that could grow in Canadian weather Sue,as our summers here are so short. Granmama have a big tree in her yard space and mostly they just stay on the tree or fall to the ground and she use it when it dry to scrub her heel back she says
(((((granmama))))) her loofah though I think is a different version as they do not grow that long is a shorter version.....same family though.
When they are mature they turn a brght crimson colour. She did ask me if I want some to carry back as I told her I use loofah in my beauty routine and they use it at the spa. Go see customs open my suitcase a Canada and see them and ask me Miss is wot this
yes the board really a stretch out.
edited to add.....granmama version look like this.....and crimson in colour like a pumpkin when mature and by that time they are dry and stiff to the touch. that is when she use them for her beauty routine.....
yes Sue I think it is and it tasted good when she made it.....I know if I make it not going taste the same
anyway mek a flash go do me exercise I need to drop the 5 lbs I put on from all the cooking she do when I was there...... and I been trying to come off the board since fivetutty am an is now sixtutty am