Chicken seems to be the most versatile thing to make the most variety of lunches with. You can make sandwiches cold, sandwiches to be heated, salad, include it with some rice, make some soup, and all sorts of things with cooked chicken.
Today's meal is
Roast
Dirty Rice
Corn on the cob
Cabbage
Hearts of Palm Salad
Cornbread
Curry Channa
Brown Rice
Spinach & Strawberry Salad
Brown Stew Fish (SMH at the fry fish thing )
Pickled Beets
Reisling
Rosemary Sweet Potatoes (Hunter in very fixated on these )
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Chicken seems to be the most versatile thing to make the most variety of lunches with. You can make sandwiches cold, sandwiches to be heated, salad, include it with some rice, make some soup, and all sorts of things with cooked chicken.
Today's meal is
Roast
<span style="font-weight: bold">Dirty Rice</span>
Corn on the cob
Cabbage
Hearts of Palm Salad
Cornbread
Hielpee, I'm going to have to ask about this one "(SMH at the fry fish thing )".
Why you hating on fry fish lol? I certainly understand that it is not the healthiest prep method but brown stewed isn't winning any heart-healthy awards either.
So school a sista who likes her fish prepared all types of ways including covered with corn meal and boiled in a vat of oil aka fried. I might need to hear the brown stewed recipe again.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hielpee, I'm going to have to ask about this one "(SMH at the fry fish thing )".
Why you hating on fry fish lol? I certainly understand that it is not the healthiest prep method but brown stewed isn't winning any heart-healthy awards either.
<span style="font-weight: bold">So school a sista who likes her fish prepared all types of ways </span>including covered with corn meal and boiled in a vat of oil aka fried. I might need to hear the brown stewed recipe again.
So Tulip!! when u gwine school dis Sista pon what is dutty rice.....mi si u tep pass mi qwestian iiena
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Stormmey1</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Tulip, what is dirty rice & </div></div>
Basically, it's rice cooked in chicken broth with spicy peppers, whatever other seasoning veggies you want to include, and a bit of meat.
This recipe was in my favorites, but frequently people use chicken livers (which I don't care for at all). I chop up a few gizzards real fine instead and if I use sausage, it's definitely ground.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Stormmey1</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> So Tulip!! when u gwine school dis Sista pon what is dutty rice.....mi si u tep pass mi qwestian iiena </div></div>
BOAL. Stormmey, I had clicked to reply to her and stepped away for a few moments. You posted in the interim. (You ain't no play thang though I see lol.)
Well am still in bed a enjoy a cuppa cawfee.....have no clue what for supper only 9:15.......I know one thang it aint me that cooking....didn't even have brekky yet....quite likely if he aint making supper we steping out to eat....btw anyone making pork chops sen me some....me new thing.....this sista been weaned off oxtail until some future time
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hielpee, I'm going to have to ask about this one "(SMH at the fry fish thing )".
So school a sista who likes her fish prepared all types of ways including covered with corn meal and boiled in a vat of oil aka fried. I might need to hear the brown stewed recipe again. </div></div>
Flowahs...mi not trying to convince anyone that Stew Fish is healthy in the least. Trust that mi eat nuff tings (in moderation of course ) that nu consider healthy. Mi just haffi SMH cah mi nu like fry fish. Period. Of course mi will eat the labour of other doh Mi shock miself when mi hear miself agree to mek di stew fish is all. Plus the smell gwine be in the house ahn mi definately nu like that
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: HIELPEE</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Flowahs...mi not trying to convince anyone that Stew Fish is healthy in the least. Trust that mi eat nuff tings (in moderation of course ) that nu consider healthy. Mi just haffi SMH cah mi nu like fry fish. Period. Of course mi will eat the labour of other doh Mi shock miself when mi hear miself agree to mek di stew fish is all. Plus the smell gwine be in the house ahn mi definately nu like that
Deadin @ flowas
You're right though, the smell is going to be up in there. Much as I love escoveitch fish, that is the first thing that crosses my mind before I cook it. No amount of Oust or boiling cinnamon sticks really kills it any faster but almost makes it worse/more confusing.
Dinner (for today and a few days in the week plus lunch)
rice & peas
plain rice
garlic and herb mashed potatoes
sauted yellow and green zucchini
spinach salad
fried chicken
brown stew fish
stew peas
lemonade
ice-cream
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.