up hard as rock brown sugar? I'd hate to throw it in the trash.
Any way to soften
Re: Any way to soften
Has your brown sugar turned into a hard and useless mass? Soften it back up with one of these simple tricks:
place a few apple slices or a slice of bread in an air-tight container with the brown sugar for a day or two. Then, remove the slices once the sugar has softened
place the brown sugar in a bowl, and cover with a damp cloth. Let sit over night
place the brown sugar in the microwave, with a small container of water beside it. Microwave for one minute. Then, check and continue to microwave in 30-second increments until the sugar is soft.
Warning: The sugar will be hot, so handle with care
Why These Tricks Work:
Over time the moisture in brown sugar evaporates, and the sugar hardens. To remedy this problem, you have to find a way to put the moisture back, and that's just what these tricks do.
Re: Any way to soften
FT - same suh fi me grannie used to sey - that de goolie man dem used to hark and spit in de sugar and then it becomes lumpy. We used to throw away the lumps. A wonder why dem used to sey dat. (Folks that worked at the sugar estate used to tell us that too).
Re: Can ackee in di tin
There's usually an expiration date on the can, however, that is probably the time frame
suggested by the USDA and/or any other agencies.
Mi sure people in some parts of the world eat the food after it expire.
The dent nuh usually mean nothing other than it drop and dent or something squeeze up the tin and dent it up.
If mi have stuff past the expire/sell by date, mi just go by smell and how it look first and then how it taste and it all depends on what kinda food it is
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">There's usually an expiration date on the can, however, that is probably the time frame
suggested by the USDA and/or any other agencies.
Mi sure people in some parts of the world eat the food after it expire.
The dent nuh usually mean nothing other than it drop and dent or something squeeze up the tin and dent it up.
If mi have stuff past the expire/sell by date, mi just go by smell and how it look first and then how it taste and it all depends on what kinda food it is </div></div>
So how you determine if the ackee is bad....
sorry fi di <span style="text-decoration: line-through">non-jamaican</span> questions....
I have eaten expired tin ackee on several occasions
I figure it the tin no swell up and it nuh look no different from the other times mi nyam it same way...the first time I did that my parents call me first ting in the morning to see if I survived the night...
I do however boil it over first ( I do that regardless) then cook it up. I just bought some that expired 2013 and the first ting my father say mek sure yu eat dem by next December!
ILP write we in di morning so we know yu alright........
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have eaten expired tin ackee on several occasions
I figure it the tin no swell up and it nuh look no different from the other times mi nyam it same way...the first time I did that my parents call me first ting in the morning to see if I survived the night...
I do however boil it over first ( I do that regardless) then cook it up. I just bought some that expired 2013 and the first ting my father say mek sure yu eat dem by next December!
<span style="font-weight: bold">ILP write we in di morning so we know yu alright</span>........ </div></div>
naw babba, mi nuh eat ackee.
is juss mi a help mi SIL organize har cupboards (before mi brother cuss har again bout it) ahn mi notice them have 6 tin ah ackee that expire in november 2011.
them pay $8.99 each fi them.
in my mind is like them a dash $60 cash inna di trash.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiney</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have nothing to contribute to this tread as I refuse to eat tin ackee
then... emmm...
you eat di fresh one