<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Are you having a party? What are you making?
<span style="font-weight: bold">Appetizers </span> <ul style="list-style-type: disc">[*]Cocktail patties[*]Solomon Gundy and XLCR water crackers - change up this a bit by spreading cream cheese on the cracker, then SG, then garnish with a thin curly slice of cucumber[*]Jerk wings[/list]
<span style="font-weight: bold">Main Course</span> <ul style="list-style-type: disc">[*]Salad greens with red onion, mandarin orange segments[*]Brown stew fish steaks (use Jack)[*]Baked plantain with brown sugar and rum (a nod to Cuba)[*]Rice and peas, if you must[/list]
<span style="font-weight: bold">Dessert </span> <ul style="list-style-type: disc">[*]I'm not a dessert person[*]Ask guests to bring dessert [/list]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Here's a menu idea:
<span style="font-weight: bold">Appetizers </span> <ul style="list-style-type: disc">[*]Cocktail patties[*]Solomon Gundy and XLCR water crackers - change up this a bit by spreading cream cheese on the cracker, then SG, then garnish with a thin curly slice of cucumber[*]Jerk wings[/list]
<span style="font-weight: bold">Main Course</span> <ul style="list-style-type: disc">[*]Salad greens with red onion, mandarin orange segments[*]Brown stew fish steaks (use Jack)[*]Baked plantain with brown sugar and rum (a nod to Cuba)[*]Rice and peas, if you must[/list]
<span style="font-weight: bold">Dessert </span> <ul style="list-style-type: disc">[*]I'm not a dessert person[*]Ask guests to bring dessert [/list]
no -- don't watch or have any interest in American football.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Are you having a party? What are you making?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so skells u tink dem gwine siddung quietly and watch superbowl or fling all bout?
That may be the deciding factor between food food and small plates of jamaican finger foods
dem a go siddung quietly since moas a dem ongly di deh fi watch di commercials an nyam
so i finally did the menu
very simple
I have a bday party fi carry di kids to in di early PM so everyting gwine be premade tings dat mi can pop in di oven when time come if dem need fi hot up
grinders (ham, chicken parm, veggie)
bbq and buffalo wings (served wid celery and blue cheese dip)
tortilla chips wid salsa, queso, and veggies (served hot)
grapes, cheese, and crackers
beer, cocktails, wine
making jello shots also (if di opposing team score yu haffi tek a shot )
juice/watah fi di pregnant guests
di current mr ilp and i will have just run a marathon that morning...so we are gonna be guests at someones home. we are bringing beer, wine, a pound cake (the one thing mi can bake), shoyu chicken bites, and a vegetable salad.
I'm having a few people over. It matters not so much that they are Jamaican or American but the regional food they are used to. For example, I'm cooking medium-hot chili. I'm using habaneros (that's all I could find) with the seeds and veins removed.
The menu is short and others are bringing food so I'll just take it as it comes and not be anal:
Chili (basic ground beef, italian sausage, and red bean)
Jalapeno/mushroom queso with chips
Fried chicken tenders
Buffalo wings
Veggie tray (carrots, celery, broccoli, cauliflower, etc.)
Variety of dips (salsa, blue cheese, ranch, honey mustard, etc.)
Cheesecake and brownies
Undecided about potato skins (twice baked with cheddar and bacon)
Beer and wine (lol @ strawberry daiquiri doesn't belong. maybe not but that's what I want.)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">no -- don't watch or have any interest in American football.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.