I am a lettuce man. Diced and mixedwith Q-coombers makes a healthy salad with the right additions like mayo and ketchup, pepper and a sprinkle of vinegar.
I had this salad dressing in Paris back in 1980 . It was on the plain lettuce served with dinner . I got the recipe, have been making it ever since and it is all I ever use on salad and it is superb on store bought potato salad as well. I give bottles of it out at Christmas time.
Garlic and Cream Dressing (Ail et creme in French)
Ingredients:
Fresh and NEVER powdered garlic
heavy cream (or low fat yogurt if you want to cut calories)
canola or other vegetable oil that has very little taste
vinegar ( I like cider vinegar for this but white is fine)
salt and pepper.
When I make this I make about three quarts, keep it in a two liter soda bottle in the fridge. It keeps a very long time.
To make by hand:.
Get a large bowl and run a couple of cloves (not whole heads) of garlic through your press or chop them really fine.
Add about a teaspoon of salt on top and using the back of a spoon, mash the garlic into a smooth paste using the salt as a grinding agent.
Add in about 1/2 cup of vinegar stir it around a bit then pour in a large (32 oz) container of low fat yogurt or a quart of heavy cream and whisk until smooth .
Then slowly add 32 ounces of the oil, whisking as you do so to get it to blend in .
You can add the pepper to taste anytime in the process.
If you have a Kitchen Aid type mixer you can save a lot of work by using it with the whisk attachment .
Do note that it is important to add the ingredients in order as written .
By adding the vinegar and yogurt first and the oil last, it will blend all the ingredients and they will not separate after sitting in the fridge .
Even if they do, you can shake it up if it's in a soda bokkle and it's just as good.
For smaller batches the quantities are garlic ( to your taste ) , small amount of salt (to taste) , 2 tablespoons of vinegar, 1/4c yogurt or cream, 1/4 c oil .
This is also good as a sandwich dressing in place of mayonnaise.
Sorry sandwich lovers, but a few shreds of lettuce on a bun won’t add up to the USDA’s daily recommended intake (2-3 cups for most adults). Instead, a big, healthy salad is one of the smartest ways to go green. Coming in at under 10 calories per cup, a big bowl of leaves can be a stellar source of vitamins A, C, K, and folate, among other essential nutrients.
But not all leafy greens will build a super-nutritious salad. In fact, America’s favorite lettuce, iceberg, ranks the lowest in nutritional value across the board (96 percent water content will do that!). Turbo-charged spinach, on the other hand, boasts nearly twice the recommended daily value of vitamin K, half the recommended value of vitamin A, and ample amounts of calcium and iron. Clearly, Popeye was on to something.
Prefer a crunchier base? A cup of romaine is a tasty alternative, with a huge dose of vitamin A and a variety of other nutrients. Or, for a mild but textured bed, red leaf lettuce clocks in at just 4 calories per cup, with nearly half of the daily recommended dose of vitamins A and K. Arugula (technically a cruciferous vegetable like broccoli, kale, and cabbage) also packs a healthy dose of nutrients and phytochemicals, which may inhibit the development of certain cancers. And for the non-committal types, mixed greens (typically a mix of romaine, oak leaf lettuce, arugula, frisée, and radicchio) offer, well, a mixed bag of nutritional benefits, depending on the batch.
Salad for Salad — Your Guide to Greens
Which greens are the best bet? Check out the infographic below for the nutritional low-down.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: HIELPEE</div><div class="ubbcode-body">minus the iceberg...mi eat all of those </div></div>
Me too and since them very low cal I can eat nuff and dont feel guilty
kale & swiss chard in the garden mi tiyad of it now and want spinach but too cheap to go buy it so mi grit mi teeths and nyam the kale & swiss chard
i eat a big bowl of the spring mix or spinach every day with tuna or squid or salmon or any other kind of fish which is not basa because mi get fi learn seh basa is a bottom feeding fish - a type of catfish. yuck.
the veggies & fruitsI dont eat (spinach, cucumber, lettuce, bananas, watermelon etc), I now drink - blender to get all of it even seeds, rather than the juicer...
That garlic and cream salad dressing sounds delicious. A nice switch up to something creamier since I all ever mix is oil, vinegar, and seasonings.
I love all types of salad greens and pretty much have one with every meal except breakfast. Iceburg is my least favorite alone but much like romaine, it adds a nice texture when mixed with others. I like to have variety.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.