<span style="font-style: italic">read this article in Harper's magazine, it was reprinted from a publication called Meatpaper, http://www.meatpaper.com/ My stomach churned the first time i read the article</span>
STINK TARTARE
MARIA WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">What is high meat?</span>
MIKE GROGRAN: Basically, it’s meat that has started to ferment. Different people have different definitions of high. Some people would say any kind of meat that is even a little bit fermented is high, and others would not even bother calling that high.
WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">Describe the first time you ate fermented meat.</span>
GROGRAN: I got some buffalo liver from a place up in Wisconsin that sells grass-fed buffalo. They slaughter every week of the year and ship overnight. I unusually try to get that in the late summer or early fall when the animals have been on grass for five or six months so the meat is at its best quality. A buffalo liver is an eight- or ten-pound organ. You can’t eat that in one day. I was slicing away at that liver for about a week, and it fermented. The blood that collected in the bottom of the container turned into something like alcohol. I remember noticing the flavour of the fermented blood was improved over the flavour of fresh blood.
WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">What does high meat taste like?</span>
GROGRAN: The fish gets real peppery and strong. It’s got such a bite to it when it gets really high, you can only stand a little at a time. It can have a real harsh, acrid quality to it. Other meats have a milder taste, and some high meat just has a rotten taste.
WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">How often do you eat it?</span>
GROGRAN: It goes in cycles. I usually buy a few pounds of scallops and sea bass and other meats every week, and sometimes I get behind. Meat builds up in the fridge. Eating it has to be daily thing if you’re ever going to get through it. I’d say I have four or five big bites of high meat or high fish every day.
WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">Do you ever get like, “This is too stinky – I’m not going to eat it”?</span>
GROGRAN: I had some beef pancreas one time. I did not like it fresh, and I could not get myself to eat it high. It was squishy and gooey and flavorless. Smell is not always a big deal. I’ve got some deer brain right now that I’m probably going to try soon. The brain’s about a month and a half old. It’s kind of congealed and gooey, but it has no smell. The fish, particularly the fattier fish, gets the smelliest.
WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">How public are you about the fact that you eat this stuff? When people find out, do they react negatively?</span>
GROGRAN: I used to work at a bank, a very large building where we did mortgage work, and i would bring my lunch with me every day. I was on a big shrimp kick at the time. I ate tons and tons of shrimp. Shrimp is very good high, but it will stink. If you open a container of high shrimp in a large room with good air circulation, it’s rough on everybody. It got to the point where people told me, “Look, you can’t bring your food in here anymore.” I had to eat my lunch in the car.
STINK TARTARE
MARIA WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">What is high meat?</span>
MIKE GROGRAN: Basically, it’s meat that has started to ferment. Different people have different definitions of high. Some people would say any kind of meat that is even a little bit fermented is high, and others would not even bother calling that high.
WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">Describe the first time you ate fermented meat.</span>
GROGRAN: I got some buffalo liver from a place up in Wisconsin that sells grass-fed buffalo. They slaughter every week of the year and ship overnight. I unusually try to get that in the late summer or early fall when the animals have been on grass for five or six months so the meat is at its best quality. A buffalo liver is an eight- or ten-pound organ. You can’t eat that in one day. I was slicing away at that liver for about a week, and it fermented. The blood that collected in the bottom of the container turned into something like alcohol. I remember noticing the flavour of the fermented blood was improved over the flavour of fresh blood.
WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">What does high meat taste like?</span>
GROGRAN: The fish gets real peppery and strong. It’s got such a bite to it when it gets really high, you can only stand a little at a time. It can have a real harsh, acrid quality to it. Other meats have a milder taste, and some high meat just has a rotten taste.
WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">How often do you eat it?</span>
GROGRAN: It goes in cycles. I usually buy a few pounds of scallops and sea bass and other meats every week, and sometimes I get behind. Meat builds up in the fridge. Eating it has to be daily thing if you’re ever going to get through it. I’d say I have four or five big bites of high meat or high fish every day.
WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">Do you ever get like, “This is too stinky – I’m not going to eat it”?</span>
GROGRAN: I had some beef pancreas one time. I did not like it fresh, and I could not get myself to eat it high. It was squishy and gooey and flavorless. Smell is not always a big deal. I’ve got some deer brain right now that I’m probably going to try soon. The brain’s about a month and a half old. It’s kind of congealed and gooey, but it has no smell. The fish, particularly the fattier fish, gets the smelliest.
WOLLAN: <span style="font-weight: bold">How public are you about the fact that you eat this stuff? When people find out, do they react negatively?</span>
GROGRAN: I used to work at a bank, a very large building where we did mortgage work, and i would bring my lunch with me every day. I was on a big shrimp kick at the time. I ate tons and tons of shrimp. Shrimp is very good high, but it will stink. If you open a container of high shrimp in a large room with good air circulation, it’s rough on everybody. It got to the point where people told me, “Look, you can’t bring your food in here anymore.” I had to eat my lunch in the car.
how u fine out seh a rotten meat imma eat? and wat im did seh bout it?