Jazz, I don't think I have ever tasted the tough corn.
All this time when people say "sweet corn", I have been thinking to myself "as opposed to what?" Yellow, white, shoepeg - all of the ones I have tasted have been sweet and tender.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thank you MGee! That's what I'm talking bout!
How long do you leave it in? </div></div>
3-5 mins depending on size. nuking concentrates the sweetness. and i love corn plain. not really a fan of boiled corn - flavour boil out then you have to replace it with salt and butter.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Corn is ok - but really corn for breakfast?
Do you like the sweet corn or the one we have back home in Ja? that tough one... </div></div>
grew up on the more robust jamaican corn, which is best when it's roasted, "bun up" as cb says. it's not as sweet as north american corn, but it is flavourful and a bit harder.
we used to play a game as children - shell the grains off the cob, then you'd have to guess how many grains the other person has hidden in their hand, and if u guess right, you get the person's grains (a wen mi come a canada mi learn seh dem name "kernel" )
boil, grill, roast pon coal, asham, out of the tin ... my children and I love corn! but them need to leave the GM thing outa it or mi going have to give it up
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i like it when it roast pon coal and bun up!
me nuh like boil corn or microwave corn </div></div>
I like it grilled too, but it's inconvenient. Roasted in the oven turns out pretty well though.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thank you MGee! That's what I'm talking bout!
How long do you leave it in? </div></div>
3-5 mins depending on size. nuking concentrates the sweetness. and i love corn plain. not really a fan of boiled corn - flavour boil out then you have to replace it with salt and butter. </div></div>
I'll give it a try in the microwave. I usually only put frozen veggies in the microwave because I like how they come out crisp and not overcooked.
You don't have to boil it a long time. If you boil anything long enough, you boil the flavor out of it.
boil, grill, roast pon coal, asham, out of the tin ... my children and I love corn! but them need to leave the GM thing outa it or mi going have to give it up
LOL. Don't be shame. Canned corn is good. It's one of the few canned veggies I like because it is not all mashed up and tasting like metal.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.