Ghetto Oxtail.
"Turkey Neck Stew" may tun som people off. Sometimes it betta yuh noh tell dem wha in deh, til dem dun nyam. Fi example, not too many smaddi waa nyam fowl foot stew. Now if yuh call it sppn like "Ghetto Chicken Fingers"!
Memba di name "Mountain Oysters"
Last edited by j-kid; 07-16-2013, 03:56 PM.
So turkey neck is being substituted for oxtail? What a great idea!
Let's compare 1 cup cooked of turkey neck and oxtail:
Source of nutrition information: FitDayTurkey Neck 
Oxtail 
Calories 241 350 Calories from fat 87 172 Fat 9.7 grams 19.2 grams Protein 35.9 grams 41.4 grams
Here's the recipe from Grace Kitchen. I renamed the dish. I don't see anything "ghetto" about turkey neck
Turkey Neck "Oxtail"
Ingredients
- 3 pounds turkey necks
- 1/4 cup Grace White Vinegar
- 4 cups water
- 6 cloves garlic, chopped
- 1 tablespoon Grace Fish and Meat Sauce
- 2 teaspoons Grace Browning
- 1 teaspoon black pepper
- 1 teaspoon scotch bonnet pepper
- 1 teaspoon salt
- 1 teaspoon ginger, chopped
- 1 teaspoon pimento berries, crushed
- 4 tablespoons Grace Vegetable Oil
- 4 cups boiling water
- 2 stalks escallion, chopped
- 1 sprig thyme
- 1/2 medium sweet pepper, julienne
- 1/2 medium onion, chopped
- 1 can Grace Broad Beans
- 1 cup Grace Tomato Ketchup
- 1 whole tomato, chopped
Directions
- Cut each turkey neck into 2 or 3 pieces. Use a sharp knife to trim away the membrane from each piece. Wash turkey neck in a mixture of Grace Vinegar and water.
- Season turkey neck with 3 cloves garlic, Grace Fish & Meat Sauce, Grace Browning, black pepper, scotch bonnet pepper, salt, ginger and crushed pimento berries and allow to marinate for about two hours.
- Heat Grace Vegetable Oil in a pressure cooker, add seasoned turkey neck and allow to brown for about 10 minutes.
- Add boiling water, seal the pressure cooker and pressure cook for 25-30 minutes. Remove from flame and allow to cool.
- Mix in the chopped escallion, thyme, remaining garlic, sweet pepper, onion, Grace Broad Beans, Grace Tomato Ketchup and tomato. Cover and allow to simmer for about 10 minutes.
Serves 4
eta ... hauling out pressure cooker this weekend
Last edited by Peasie; 07-18-2013, 08:10 PM.
Of the discarded meats that were given to slaves, oxtail was certainly the meatier and less fatty than the other cuts. But only slightly lessOriginally posted by j-kid View PostWell, dem mussi did sey, oxtail in itself was always fi di poor man from way way back, soh turkey nek even further below dat.
All I know is, don't go for a lipid profile at the doctor's for at least two months after consuming oxtail.
Seriously gwine try it the turkey neck recipe on the weekend and will report back
[QUOTE=j-kid;711972]
turkey neck tough! It was pretty meaty all the same. But bwoy, it was very hard to cut. I had to use a cleaver and a hammer.

i feel sorry for you poor pilgrims - holy moly. we can get our turkey neck pre-cut here. we can also get it in the standard supermarket. where i live is ethnically diverse so they feature -for all .
Last edited by Suesumba; 01-02-2014, 10:05 AM.
Originally posted by j-kid View PostWell, dem mussi did sey, oxtail in itself was always fi di poor man from way way back, soh turkey nek even further below dat.
A true, when me was a child oxtail was a cheap cut of meat. Now it it cost as much per pound as sirloin. It can't be considered a poor man's meal anymore.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.