Bun fi bun
By Miss Kitty, Contributor
An awkward-looking man approached me recently about comments I had made on a TV show regarding the issue of "bun".
He said he never liked how mi tell di woman dem fi bun back dem man if dem have a girl out a street and went on to say that 'real woman' don't give bun.
I had to interject and ask him to define a 'real woman'. And his basic definition suggested that it is a woman who doesn't give bun.
Feeling justified with his trite definition, he went on to lament that it is in a man's nature to give woman bun and woman just need to understand that.
He further buried himself by saying that a woman should not give her man bun if him a mine har because even though him a give har bun she should be thankful that he doesn't sleep out.
Jus' when I think that the man talk out him latitude, him put this final nail in the coffin by saying that every man give bun an a jus' suh di ting set.
Flabbergasted
It was flabbergasting to me to think that men like this exist.
I don't want to be misconstrued as I am not encouraging woman to arbitrarily cheat or give them man bun.
What I believe is that if yu man a giv' yu bun an yu waan bun him back, a jus suh!
The stone and barbaric ages are long gone when only men had a right and women were just mere reproductive vessels.
With industrialisation, most women have become financially and mentally independent so that we now decide our own destiny.
Yes, yuh still have some man mascot roaming the streets, but for most women of today, nuh man nah run wi head!
For many years, men have tried to subliminally brainwash women into believing that cheating is only right for them, as it affirms their manhood, while wrong for us because it is not the ladylike thing to do.
For years, and even now, men are congratulated and lauded for cheating while women are chastised.
Well I need men to understand that a new day has come and no longer are women going to subscribe to their ideology which is only beneficial to them because it keeps women in check.
I sincerely believe in reciprocal treatment because the same respect, loyalty and faithfulness men expect, women expect no less.
How can it be that men should cheat on women left, right and centre an we fi jus tek it suh?
Wah can bun me is most of the time,when men giv' bun, a wid some 'gully creepa' and some one brain-cell woman weh cyaan even walk inna him 'rightful' woman shadow!
Men need to understand that if yuh give bun, chances are you ah go get the factory.
No more tears
No more tears and thoughts of suicide.
Get dressed, do your hair, lef di chink an go find a nice, good-body man dat suit yuh.
Nowhere in the 10 commandments does it say that a woman has to be 'lady' to enter heaven and, furthermore, mi granny tell mi seh lady stay unda bed and cobweb drop pon dem. Even ladies go to mad houses too.
I refuse to believe that it is in a man's nature to cheat, because cheating is a choice.
Let me state definitively that cheating is wrong for both sexes and, as such, one gender should not be given the upper hand to do as they like.
Do unto others as you would have them do unto you and if yuh heart nuh strong enough fi tek bun, don't give none.
By no means am I suggesting that if yuh man cheat an unnu waa talk it ova dat shouldn't gwaan.
But if he is a serial cheater, and if cheating is in his DNA, then yuh done know.
Women need to realise that if dem fi get bun, they cannot stop it and the same school of thought applies to men.
Let us not cast blame or judgement, but take responsibility for our own actions because whether a man is providing for a woman sleeping in or out, bun well hot.
By Miss Kitty, Contributor
An awkward-looking man approached me recently about comments I had made on a TV show regarding the issue of "bun".
He said he never liked how mi tell di woman dem fi bun back dem man if dem have a girl out a street and went on to say that 'real woman' don't give bun.
I had to interject and ask him to define a 'real woman'. And his basic definition suggested that it is a woman who doesn't give bun.
Feeling justified with his trite definition, he went on to lament that it is in a man's nature to give woman bun and woman just need to understand that.
He further buried himself by saying that a woman should not give her man bun if him a mine har because even though him a give har bun she should be thankful that he doesn't sleep out.
Jus' when I think that the man talk out him latitude, him put this final nail in the coffin by saying that every man give bun an a jus' suh di ting set.
Flabbergasted
It was flabbergasting to me to think that men like this exist.
I don't want to be misconstrued as I am not encouraging woman to arbitrarily cheat or give them man bun.
What I believe is that if yu man a giv' yu bun an yu waan bun him back, a jus suh!
The stone and barbaric ages are long gone when only men had a right and women were just mere reproductive vessels.
With industrialisation, most women have become financially and mentally independent so that we now decide our own destiny.
Yes, yuh still have some man mascot roaming the streets, but for most women of today, nuh man nah run wi head!
For many years, men have tried to subliminally brainwash women into believing that cheating is only right for them, as it affirms their manhood, while wrong for us because it is not the ladylike thing to do.
For years, and even now, men are congratulated and lauded for cheating while women are chastised.
Well I need men to understand that a new day has come and no longer are women going to subscribe to their ideology which is only beneficial to them because it keeps women in check.
I sincerely believe in reciprocal treatment because the same respect, loyalty and faithfulness men expect, women expect no less.
How can it be that men should cheat on women left, right and centre an we fi jus tek it suh?
Wah can bun me is most of the time,when men giv' bun, a wid some 'gully creepa' and some one brain-cell woman weh cyaan even walk inna him 'rightful' woman shadow!
Men need to understand that if yuh give bun, chances are you ah go get the factory.
No more tears
No more tears and thoughts of suicide.
Get dressed, do your hair, lef di chink an go find a nice, good-body man dat suit yuh.
Nowhere in the 10 commandments does it say that a woman has to be 'lady' to enter heaven and, furthermore, mi granny tell mi seh lady stay unda bed and cobweb drop pon dem. Even ladies go to mad houses too.
I refuse to believe that it is in a man's nature to cheat, because cheating is a choice.
Let me state definitively that cheating is wrong for both sexes and, as such, one gender should not be given the upper hand to do as they like.
Do unto others as you would have them do unto you and if yuh heart nuh strong enough fi tek bun, don't give none.
By no means am I suggesting that if yuh man cheat an unnu waa talk it ova dat shouldn't gwaan.
But if he is a serial cheater, and if cheating is in his DNA, then yuh done know.
Women need to realise that if dem fi get bun, they cannot stop it and the same school of thought applies to men.
Let us not cast blame or judgement, but take responsibility for our own actions because whether a man is providing for a woman sleeping in or out, bun well hot.