'My wife doesn't have those skills'
Strip club patrons all have different reasons for coming and getting hooked
BY TYRONE S REID Sunday Observer staff reporter [email protected]
Sunday, July 06, 2008
"The big difference between sex for money and sex for free is that sex for money usually costs a lot less."
- Irish dramatist Brendan Behan
WHEN the sun goes down across Jamaica, the heat is turned up on the strip club/sex shop scene. From Kingston to Montego Bay, men of all ages and socio-economic backgrounds come out to play with 'the girls', with the seductive sounds of the night as their intoxicating soundtrack.
Depending on the night of the week, these exotic establishments are either full or half-full, but there is no limit to the flow of single dollars and expensive liquor as the 'party' really starts to groove. Back home, their wives and kids are probably fast asleep while they are here, getting their groove on as the music pulsates from the speaker-boxes and the lithe young ladies work the poles, moving their endowed chests and rotating their hips as if their lives depend on it. This goes on till the crack of dawn, especially on weekends.
The male patrons will readily tell you they go to strip clubs for the allure of the 'pretty young things'. For them, the strippers and private dancers are objects of high art as they move in all different erotic styles, showing off their skills. The dancers do all this with the hopes of getting the men (with eyes affixed to the stage) interested in buying a lap dance or more - if the price is right - which the men often do. Lap dance prices, we are told, start at $500.
On this particular Friday night at an exotic club in Kingston, it is amazing how one talented dancer works her magic on a middle-aged man in spectacles, still in his work clothes. The whole time she is writhing and wriggling in his lap, she's whispering all kinds of provocative things in his ear. All the while he's holding her and looking at her like she's the most beautiful thing he's ever seen.
Speaking with the Sunday Observer briefly after his five minutes with the 'chocolate honey', he reluctantly gives his name as Brian. He's 31 and works in advertising.
He's also married with a pregnant wife at home.
"My wife doesn't have those skills," he says, before taking a swig from his Heineken bottle. "I come here a lot, especially on a Friday night, before I go home to my wife so that I can be in the mood to make love to her good an' proper."
Jason, a single 25-year-old, just loves the attention he gets from the strippers during his weekly visits. For men like Jason, it's not all about the arousing lap dances. Some of these men come seeking a listener - someone who will sit there nodding and smiling, hanging on to their every word.
"Sometimes it's not the lap dance alone. The experience of talking to a pretty, pretty girl is not something yutes like me get all the while," Jason explains.
On the other hand, for many men, strip clubs take the edge off the desire to step out of their committed relationships. Especially when no sex is involved, there are no repercussions to consider: no unprotected intercourse that could lead to STDs, no unwanted pregnancies and there are no emotional entanglements to worry about; no strings attached.
Barry, 30, a freelance music producer, is seated in a dark corner of the club. He says he's just here to enjoy the music. "Mi have mi girlfriend, but because mi love the music mi come to the club to hear some tune and watch the dancers dance," he says. "Mi nuh believe in the [sex] transaction thing, but some man into that and mi nuh have a problem wid dat."
Psychologist Leahcim Semaj lists the visual stimulation and no-strings-attached ease men get at these establishments among the driving factors behind the success of strip clubs and sex shops.
"Men have always been attracted to the female body. It goes back to the historical days. At the same time, some men feel they are not being adequately satisfied at home so they go to the clubs for the visual stimulation and when they return home to their wives or girlfriends, they incorporate those images into their sex lives. The more deprived of sex a man is, the more he'll be inclined to visit these clubs," Semaj told the Sunday Observer.
"Men are more visually stimulated than women. Some people say prostitution works out cheaper for the man than marriage. Both the man and the prostitute or stripper are getting what they want from each other and they both leave satisfied. These adult establishments can be seen as mechanisms for expressing sexuality."
Robert, a businessman in his late 40s, corroborates Semaj's argument, saying his wife 'benefits' from his late-night exploits.
"You just come to the club, look and fantasize and get turned on. It's a pep up for my marriage and my wife reaps the benefits when I go back home," he says laughing. "Sometimes I think she suspects, but she doesn't say anything and I don't say anything either. She doesn't complain. When you're married for over 15 years, sometimes you need a little extra spice to your relationship. And is that such a bad thing? Talk the truth."
He admits though that he's getting too old and might soon call it quits on his lengthy strip-club affair.
"Eventually, I might stop coming to the club, but not anytime soon. I don't see a pressing reason to stop right now. This is just good, harmless fun. Don't it?" he asks, before making another trip over to the bar.
Strip club patrons all have different reasons for coming and getting hooked
BY TYRONE S REID Sunday Observer staff reporter [email protected]
Sunday, July 06, 2008
"The big difference between sex for money and sex for free is that sex for money usually costs a lot less."
- Irish dramatist Brendan Behan
WHEN the sun goes down across Jamaica, the heat is turned up on the strip club/sex shop scene. From Kingston to Montego Bay, men of all ages and socio-economic backgrounds come out to play with 'the girls', with the seductive sounds of the night as their intoxicating soundtrack.
Depending on the night of the week, these exotic establishments are either full or half-full, but there is no limit to the flow of single dollars and expensive liquor as the 'party' really starts to groove. Back home, their wives and kids are probably fast asleep while they are here, getting their groove on as the music pulsates from the speaker-boxes and the lithe young ladies work the poles, moving their endowed chests and rotating their hips as if their lives depend on it. This goes on till the crack of dawn, especially on weekends.
The male patrons will readily tell you they go to strip clubs for the allure of the 'pretty young things'. For them, the strippers and private dancers are objects of high art as they move in all different erotic styles, showing off their skills. The dancers do all this with the hopes of getting the men (with eyes affixed to the stage) interested in buying a lap dance or more - if the price is right - which the men often do. Lap dance prices, we are told, start at $500.
On this particular Friday night at an exotic club in Kingston, it is amazing how one talented dancer works her magic on a middle-aged man in spectacles, still in his work clothes. The whole time she is writhing and wriggling in his lap, she's whispering all kinds of provocative things in his ear. All the while he's holding her and looking at her like she's the most beautiful thing he's ever seen.
Speaking with the Sunday Observer briefly after his five minutes with the 'chocolate honey', he reluctantly gives his name as Brian. He's 31 and works in advertising.
He's also married with a pregnant wife at home.
"My wife doesn't have those skills," he says, before taking a swig from his Heineken bottle. "I come here a lot, especially on a Friday night, before I go home to my wife so that I can be in the mood to make love to her good an' proper."
Jason, a single 25-year-old, just loves the attention he gets from the strippers during his weekly visits. For men like Jason, it's not all about the arousing lap dances. Some of these men come seeking a listener - someone who will sit there nodding and smiling, hanging on to their every word.
"Sometimes it's not the lap dance alone. The experience of talking to a pretty, pretty girl is not something yutes like me get all the while," Jason explains.
On the other hand, for many men, strip clubs take the edge off the desire to step out of their committed relationships. Especially when no sex is involved, there are no repercussions to consider: no unprotected intercourse that could lead to STDs, no unwanted pregnancies and there are no emotional entanglements to worry about; no strings attached.
Barry, 30, a freelance music producer, is seated in a dark corner of the club. He says he's just here to enjoy the music. "Mi have mi girlfriend, but because mi love the music mi come to the club to hear some tune and watch the dancers dance," he says. "Mi nuh believe in the [sex] transaction thing, but some man into that and mi nuh have a problem wid dat."
Psychologist Leahcim Semaj lists the visual stimulation and no-strings-attached ease men get at these establishments among the driving factors behind the success of strip clubs and sex shops.
"Men have always been attracted to the female body. It goes back to the historical days. At the same time, some men feel they are not being adequately satisfied at home so they go to the clubs for the visual stimulation and when they return home to their wives or girlfriends, they incorporate those images into their sex lives. The more deprived of sex a man is, the more he'll be inclined to visit these clubs," Semaj told the Sunday Observer.
"Men are more visually stimulated than women. Some people say prostitution works out cheaper for the man than marriage. Both the man and the prostitute or stripper are getting what they want from each other and they both leave satisfied. These adult establishments can be seen as mechanisms for expressing sexuality."
Robert, a businessman in his late 40s, corroborates Semaj's argument, saying his wife 'benefits' from his late-night exploits.
"You just come to the club, look and fantasize and get turned on. It's a pep up for my marriage and my wife reaps the benefits when I go back home," he says laughing. "Sometimes I think she suspects, but she doesn't say anything and I don't say anything either. She doesn't complain. When you're married for over 15 years, sometimes you need a little extra spice to your relationship. And is that such a bad thing? Talk the truth."
He admits though that he's getting too old and might soon call it quits on his lengthy strip-club affair.
"Eventually, I might stop coming to the club, but not anytime soon. I don't see a pressing reason to stop right now. This is just good, harmless fun. Don't it?" he asks, before making another trip over to the bar.