Peeling the myths away
By Miss Kitty, Star Writer
A man see mi last night dress hot to puss foot. Him tell mi how him like mi fluff and wan carry mi home.
By the time him ready fi gi me a second 'speeching', mi hear him seh, "bwoy Miss Kitty, woman like you suppose to expensive fi mind, 'cause look pon yuh hair, yuh nails and jewellery."
Quizzical look
By this time mi start gi him a quizzical look cause mi a wonder what him mean. To ease the discomfort mi hear him seh wid a chuckle, "but Miss Kitty, like how yuh nails so long, yuh can't wash ,cook nar clean?" Dem time deh mi mouth open and I had to set him straight.
Some people, and more so some men, seem to think that if you wear false hair and false nails, then you are not domestically inclined and that you can't or don't do housework. This is so far from the truth because though someone may have long nails, which may sometimes be a minor impediment, we can still do what needs to get done in the house, if we want to do it.
PEELING BANANA
Some people think that if you have long nails, you can't peel banana, but that is so not true because banana no peel with nail, it peel with the side of your finger! Even so, if mi no want peel nuh banana, that's my right, so all who can't eat banana in a the skin, tuff luck and, furthermore, it is medically proven that the nutrients are in the skin.
Misconception
It is also a misconception that being able to wash, cook and clean are all prerequisites to being a good woman. I won't say a woman is not to make sure that her environs are clean, especially if she has children, because wi all know seh cleanliness is next to Godliness, but this is not the woman's duty alone. The men can get up and cook too, help around the house, help with the children to make life easier. A relationship is a partnership and not slavery and, to me, if a man jus siddung and expect seh a woman fi do everything and cater to him and treat him like a king, a idiot ting that!
Big demand and them bruk
What can hurt mi even more a when them mek them big demand and them bruk.
It is also important that we understand that in a relationship people's aptitude towards different chores may vary. There is no rule that says a woman a fi can cook fi enter heaven because though woman's strength may not be in the kitchen, maybe she can iron good. She may not know how fi soap up white clothes and put it in a bag mek it sun, but she may be able to go to the supermarket and be a very economical shopper.
Though some roles may be defined according to some sociology functionalist theory, they are not etched in stone and can be adjusted and altered to help ones relationship. Some parents are to be blamed in the way they raise their daughters differently from their son.
From a tender age, it is instilled in the boys that women are to do all the housework while they read the paper and cock up dem foot, but I would advise parents, especially mothers, to dispell that myth because if yuh son a set him long belly and a wait on a washy and cooky lilly him a go dead fi hungry and wear crush clothes.
False ideas
Everyone in a relationship needs to pull their own weight, but it is equally important that where one party may be weak or just not like a particular chore, then the other party can support and meet them half way.
False hair and false nails do not stop a woman from doing what she wants or do not take away from her womanhood.
By Miss Kitty, Star Writer
A man see mi last night dress hot to puss foot. Him tell mi how him like mi fluff and wan carry mi home.
By the time him ready fi gi me a second 'speeching', mi hear him seh, "bwoy Miss Kitty, woman like you suppose to expensive fi mind, 'cause look pon yuh hair, yuh nails and jewellery."
Quizzical look
By this time mi start gi him a quizzical look cause mi a wonder what him mean. To ease the discomfort mi hear him seh wid a chuckle, "but Miss Kitty, like how yuh nails so long, yuh can't wash ,cook nar clean?" Dem time deh mi mouth open and I had to set him straight.
Some people, and more so some men, seem to think that if you wear false hair and false nails, then you are not domestically inclined and that you can't or don't do housework. This is so far from the truth because though someone may have long nails, which may sometimes be a minor impediment, we can still do what needs to get done in the house, if we want to do it.
PEELING BANANA
Some people think that if you have long nails, you can't peel banana, but that is so not true because banana no peel with nail, it peel with the side of your finger! Even so, if mi no want peel nuh banana, that's my right, so all who can't eat banana in a the skin, tuff luck and, furthermore, it is medically proven that the nutrients are in the skin.
Misconception
It is also a misconception that being able to wash, cook and clean are all prerequisites to being a good woman. I won't say a woman is not to make sure that her environs are clean, especially if she has children, because wi all know seh cleanliness is next to Godliness, but this is not the woman's duty alone. The men can get up and cook too, help around the house, help with the children to make life easier. A relationship is a partnership and not slavery and, to me, if a man jus siddung and expect seh a woman fi do everything and cater to him and treat him like a king, a idiot ting that!
Big demand and them bruk
What can hurt mi even more a when them mek them big demand and them bruk.
It is also important that we understand that in a relationship people's aptitude towards different chores may vary. There is no rule that says a woman a fi can cook fi enter heaven because though woman's strength may not be in the kitchen, maybe she can iron good. She may not know how fi soap up white clothes and put it in a bag mek it sun, but she may be able to go to the supermarket and be a very economical shopper.
Though some roles may be defined according to some sociology functionalist theory, they are not etched in stone and can be adjusted and altered to help ones relationship. Some parents are to be blamed in the way they raise their daughters differently from their son.
From a tender age, it is instilled in the boys that women are to do all the housework while they read the paper and cock up dem foot, but I would advise parents, especially mothers, to dispell that myth because if yuh son a set him long belly and a wait on a washy and cooky lilly him a go dead fi hungry and wear crush clothes.
False ideas
Everyone in a relationship needs to pull their own weight, but it is equally important that where one party may be weak or just not like a particular chore, then the other party can support and meet them half way.
False hair and false nails do not stop a woman from doing what she wants or do not take away from her womanhood.