WHAT'S GOING ON IN THEIR MINDS?
You ever observe some of those young men as they frantically plunge their bodies and violently thrust their pelvises against the scantily clad young women in the dancehall space?
Video images of the frenzied, energetic, erotic-looking choreography are all over TV and the Internet. Watching the young people in their sensuously outrageous public simulation of copulation, one might feel able to guess or assume what's going on in their bodies.
The question, though, is: what actually goes on in their minds? Wha dem really a pree? That's one of the things I wonder about. Also, what messages, if any, do the sounds and pictures send to youth viewers about 'manship', public performance and sexuality? And, are ideas about gender relations being shaped or influenced by consumption of these colourful and arresting images? I had occasion to explore these questions and many others as one of four co-facilitators in a three-day workshop that ended yesterday.
portrayals of masculinity
The workshop was organised collaboratively by Friedrich Ebert Stiftung (FES) and Women's Media Watch Jamaica, and the participants were young men aged 18 to late 20s. The gathering provided an opportunity for the group to discuss a whole range of issues relating to portrayals of masculinity and ideas about gender relationships in the media. We also explored power and violence, and the impact that men have (or are perceived to have) on the social, cultural and natural environment. Trust me, it was very, very interesting.
The 16 participants represented themselves very well. They were drawn from communities all over Kingston, St Andrew and St Catherine (uptown and downtown) and they brought such confidence, intelligence, insight and humour to the engagement that the facilitators learned as much as they taught.
One of the more interesting moments in the session happened for me after we critically examined some clips from the plethora of videos of Jamaican street dances on Youtube. One particularly striking still shot created an extended discussion. People, mek I see if I can describe the picture for you.
beach-themed party
It looks like some kind of beach-themed party because everyone in the picture is wearing swim wear, but the location doesn't look like a beach. There is no sand or water. A group of youngsters in the background appear to be sitting on a verandah cheering on a young couple in the foreground. The couple in focus is in swim gear - so you know they're 90 per cent naked. He's wearing shorts and she's wearing a tiny bikini thing that is a lickle toops more than absolutely nothing. They're joined at the pelvis, locked in an obvious daggering pose. She's off the ground, and he holds her up with his hands under her bottom. Her legs are spread as far apart as Negril and Morant Point. Yu get di picture?
Several of the young men in the group admit that they have often been in a similar position as the guy in that picture. Now, what the other facilitators and I found intriguing was that the overwhelming majority of participants were adamant that no matter how sexual the scenario may look, the engagement is never ever really about sex.
I have a hard time accepting that an almost naked young man can be bumping pelvis with an almost 'nakeder' young woman, to music with very sexually charged lyrics in an atmosphere of laughter, liquor and excitement, and him nah think 'bout sex! The young men in the workshop insist that is 'nothing but dancing'. My response is 'yeah ... rrrright!' what you think?
[email protected]
You ever observe some of those young men as they frantically plunge their bodies and violently thrust their pelvises against the scantily clad young women in the dancehall space?
Video images of the frenzied, energetic, erotic-looking choreography are all over TV and the Internet. Watching the young people in their sensuously outrageous public simulation of copulation, one might feel able to guess or assume what's going on in their bodies.
The question, though, is: what actually goes on in their minds? Wha dem really a pree? That's one of the things I wonder about. Also, what messages, if any, do the sounds and pictures send to youth viewers about 'manship', public performance and sexuality? And, are ideas about gender relations being shaped or influenced by consumption of these colourful and arresting images? I had occasion to explore these questions and many others as one of four co-facilitators in a three-day workshop that ended yesterday.
portrayals of masculinity
The workshop was organised collaboratively by Friedrich Ebert Stiftung (FES) and Women's Media Watch Jamaica, and the participants were young men aged 18 to late 20s. The gathering provided an opportunity for the group to discuss a whole range of issues relating to portrayals of masculinity and ideas about gender relationships in the media. We also explored power and violence, and the impact that men have (or are perceived to have) on the social, cultural and natural environment. Trust me, it was very, very interesting.
The 16 participants represented themselves very well. They were drawn from communities all over Kingston, St Andrew and St Catherine (uptown and downtown) and they brought such confidence, intelligence, insight and humour to the engagement that the facilitators learned as much as they taught.
One of the more interesting moments in the session happened for me after we critically examined some clips from the plethora of videos of Jamaican street dances on Youtube. One particularly striking still shot created an extended discussion. People, mek I see if I can describe the picture for you.
beach-themed party
It looks like some kind of beach-themed party because everyone in the picture is wearing swim wear, but the location doesn't look like a beach. There is no sand or water. A group of youngsters in the background appear to be sitting on a verandah cheering on a young couple in the foreground. The couple in focus is in swim gear - so you know they're 90 per cent naked. He's wearing shorts and she's wearing a tiny bikini thing that is a lickle toops more than absolutely nothing. They're joined at the pelvis, locked in an obvious daggering pose. She's off the ground, and he holds her up with his hands under her bottom. Her legs are spread as far apart as Negril and Morant Point. Yu get di picture?
Several of the young men in the group admit that they have often been in a similar position as the guy in that picture. Now, what the other facilitators and I found intriguing was that the overwhelming majority of participants were adamant that no matter how sexual the scenario may look, the engagement is never ever really about sex.
I have a hard time accepting that an almost naked young man can be bumping pelvis with an almost 'nakeder' young woman, to music with very sexually charged lyrics in an atmosphere of laughter, liquor and excitement, and him nah think 'bout sex! The young men in the workshop insist that is 'nothing but dancing'. My response is 'yeah ... rrrright!' what you think?
[email protected]