<span style="font-style: italic">alright, this could go in either DearK or Faith n Unreasonable but I'll just post it here for the time being....</span>
I know what I should do with this situation but I am wrestling with doing the right thing - if I am honest
get this email for a woman I went to church with many many many moons ago. I stopped going to this church...and all churches for the fact cause of some B.S. I went thru being the Treasurer and stuff at this place. So I quit the place and have said no way I would ever be in a church again unless it is to sit in the pews and that is it.....church politics and me dont mix.
so this woman tracks me down cause I was good friends with the pastor's wife and she wants to do something for the pastor's family and wanted my input on her ideas since I knew/know them well.
problem is, I know the politics of the place....she is trying to get the congregation to help out the pastor's family cause the church plays him poorly and the family does struggle alot financially.
Problem is, I know her idea was shot down from the board - otherwise they would have done it for them already - and she is trying to get a "grassroots" movement going to put together this food hamper business. (Nuff times I would get caught up in factions with the church cause I held the purse strings) The way I see it - if it was truly grassroots and the congregation really wanted to do something for the pastor's family, she wouldnt be begging someone like me that hasnt had nuttin to do with the place in 7 yrs to help out.
I am willing to be kind to my friend who is the pastor's wife but truth is I absolutely cannot stand her husband and any of the board members.
Hence why me and this woman dont talk as much as we once did...too complicated to explain here.
So for a myraid of reasons, I dont want my name in any of it...and this woman asking isnt the kind to keep hr mouth shut even if I ask.
<span style="font-weight: bold">now bigger picture,</span> the family could do with the blessing.
In spite of everything, I think the church treats their family like indentured servants...but the flip side I dont want any part of anything to do with their church politics and having ANY input even benign as this will stir up badmind coming my way and any potential phone calls saying why am I interfering, blah blah and then I have to give up my religion and cuss out someone
<span style="font-weight: bold">what would you do? Would u step up, deal with any crap that might come your way, and help with the food hamper for the family's sake. Or would you tell this woman to go about her business in a polite way and stay out of it?</span>
I want to tell her to not ask for my input but I truly feel bad for doing so
I know what I should do with this situation but I am wrestling with doing the right thing - if I am honest

get this email for a woman I went to church with many many many moons ago. I stopped going to this church...and all churches for the fact cause of some B.S. I went thru being the Treasurer and stuff at this place. So I quit the place and have said no way I would ever be in a church again unless it is to sit in the pews and that is it.....church politics and me dont mix.
so this woman tracks me down cause I was good friends with the pastor's wife and she wants to do something for the pastor's family and wanted my input on her ideas since I knew/know them well.
problem is, I know the politics of the place....she is trying to get the congregation to help out the pastor's family cause the church plays him poorly and the family does struggle alot financially.
Problem is, I know her idea was shot down from the board - otherwise they would have done it for them already - and she is trying to get a "grassroots" movement going to put together this food hamper business. (Nuff times I would get caught up in factions with the church cause I held the purse strings) The way I see it - if it was truly grassroots and the congregation really wanted to do something for the pastor's family, she wouldnt be begging someone like me that hasnt had nuttin to do with the place in 7 yrs to help out.
I am willing to be kind to my friend who is the pastor's wife but truth is I absolutely cannot stand her husband and any of the board members.
Hence why me and this woman dont talk as much as we once did...too complicated to explain here.So for a myraid of reasons, I dont want my name in any of it...and this woman asking isnt the kind to keep hr mouth shut even if I ask.
<span style="font-weight: bold">now bigger picture,</span> the family could do with the blessing.

In spite of everything, I think the church treats their family like indentured servants...but the flip side I dont want any part of anything to do with their church politics and having ANY input even benign as this will stir up badmind coming my way and any potential phone calls saying why am I interfering, blah blah and then I have to give up my religion and cuss out someone

<span style="font-weight: bold">what would you do? Would u step up, deal with any crap that might come your way, and help with the food hamper for the family's sake. Or would you tell this woman to go about her business in a polite way and stay out of it?</span>
I want to tell her to not ask for my input but I truly feel bad for doing so
What kind of mess is that? Why doesn't he have a job like the rest of his congregation, it is his responsibility to care for his family and not yours period. I can see if he fell on hard times but come on now.
seriously.....