Re: Are White Men the Answer?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">boy kia, me no know if we can undo it now, it gone too far, and the system no set up fe help the ones who are struggling....
first....the govt needs to invest and be ready to do all they can for the kids.....i mean invest in dem, like how dem invest in stocks and bonds....after all, it is our future, and if couple mek it and others dont, the ones who dont, can be a pain in the baxside for rest of us...they need more
- recreation centers
- vocational centers
- mediation centers
- job fairs (even if its temp jobs)
i hear you and agree to a point but realistically at this point in time not much govt going to do. That is why I think we have to do for ourselves.
We have to go back to the village mentality where even in the city, the old people would sit pon dem stoop watching the kids, talking to them and helping dem wid dem hw. Mi know parents are tired from the day but sitting down together and having 'school at home' , family dinners where the kids dem can talk will mek a difference. More big brother programs for the boys cause as much as we can do as women to be mother & father to boypickney, dem really need a male father figure to guide dem. We as a people need to be more cohesive and tek education seriously cause we need to find a path out of this mess. De jews value education where when the kids are young they smear jelly in a book and let the kid lik it off the book so they know education is sweet. We need to take a profession and run wid it as a stepping stone for something better for the next generation. Law enforcement, Carpentry and building, plumbing, etc are quick fixes for the near term and build on it?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">boy kia, me no know if we can undo it now, it gone too far, and the system no set up fe help the ones who are struggling....
first....the govt needs to invest and be ready to do all they can for the kids.....i mean invest in dem, like how dem invest in stocks and bonds....after all, it is our future, and if couple mek it and others dont, the ones who dont, can be a pain in the baxside for rest of us...they need more
- recreation centers
- vocational centers
- mediation centers
- job fairs (even if its temp jobs)
i hear you and agree to a point but realistically at this point in time not much govt going to do. That is why I think we have to do for ourselves.
We have to go back to the village mentality where even in the city, the old people would sit pon dem stoop watching the kids, talking to them and helping dem wid dem hw. Mi know parents are tired from the day but sitting down together and having 'school at home' , family dinners where the kids dem can talk will mek a difference. More big brother programs for the boys cause as much as we can do as women to be mother & father to boypickney, dem really need a male father figure to guide dem. We as a people need to be more cohesive and tek education seriously cause we need to find a path out of this mess. De jews value education where when the kids are young they smear jelly in a book and let the kid lik it off the book so they know education is sweet. We need to take a profession and run wid it as a stepping stone for something better for the next generation. Law enforcement, Carpentry and building, plumbing, etc are quick fixes for the near term and build on it?